Energy savers earn praise

Energy savers were recognized in Kelowna as FortisBC announced the winners of its PowerSense Conservation Excellence and Leadership awards.

From schools heated by geothermal to one of the most energy efficient homes in Canada, 45 local individuals, businesses and institutions are taking energy management to new heights.

And those energy saving efforts were recognized last week in Kelowna as FortisBC announced the winners of its annual PowerSense Conservation Excellence and Leadership awards for outstanding achievements in energy efficiency.

For the first time, the awards were part of an all-day forum where energy conscious businesses learned from each other, industry experts and Natural Resources Canada on the most effective ways to manage energy use. FortisBC PowerSense Conservation Excellence Awards recognize customers who have shown a commitment to innovation, conservation and sustainability by completing energy efficiency projects that saved more than 100,000 kilowatt hours annually and reduced natural gas use by more than 10 per cent when compared to an equivalent time period in 2011.

One of the largest projects recognized with a conservation award was the expansion to the City of Kelowna’s wastewater treatment facility.

With this project, the facility has nearly doubled its capacity to treat water, accommodating the city’s sewer servicing needs beyond 2030. As part of the expansion, new equipment was installed that increases the facility’s energy efficiency and reduces the use of potable water. Innovative technologies include UV disinfection of effluent and a state-of-the-art odour control system.

“Building a sustainable city means that we find ways to deliver and balance on multiple bottom lines. Through expansion of the wastewater treatment facility, we have been able to expand our capacity for service while reducing our energy footprint and saving costs,” said Mike Gosselin, acting utility services manager.

The Okanagan Conservation Leadership winners — 45 organizations and individuals acting as leaders, catalysts, and educators — are:

Conservation Excellence

City of Penticton, Interior Health Authority, Town of Summerland, School District 53 Oliver, Village of Keremeos, Overwaitea Foods, Hudson’s Bay Company, Loblaws, UBC Properties Trust, UBC Okanagan, City of Kelowna, Kelowna Toyota, Sears Canada, Orchard Park Shopping Centre, Delta Grand Hotel, Versatile Fab and Machine, Okanagan Strata Management, Northwood Retirement Resort, Pushor Mitchell Building, Interior Savings Credit Union, Sunstar Ventures.

Leadership Awards

Darter Developments Ltd., Acorn Communities Ltd., Architecturally Distinct Solutions Ltd., Valux Homes Ltd., Allen & Maurer Architects, Ritchie Contracting.

Special Acknowledgements

BC Non-Profit Housing Association, Okanagan Lighting Wholesalers, Ministry of Energy and Mines and Natural Gas (Efficiency Division).

Just Posted

Accident at Highway 97 near airport

Fire crews and ambulance officials have responded to the scene

Two escape vehicle fire

Smoke and flames were spotted coming from the hood of a truck on Hudson Road

Kelowna motel robbed, suspect sought

The suspect threatened to harm the lone front desk clerk and demanded money.

Penticton reporter reflects on covering Charles Manson

Charles Manson, leader of a murderous cult, died on Sunday at 83

West Kelowna neighbourhood fed up with criminal activity

Prowler frustrating West Kelowna residents

Heavy snowfall expected on Coquihalla

Snow forecast for mountain highways

Annett finishes season on the podium at Ironman Arizona

Penticton triathlete sets new course record on the bike

Cash donations create purchasing power

Salvation Army and food banks stretch a donated dollar a long way

Hergott: A pedestrian’s legal obligation

Lawyer Paul Hergott questions the moral obligation of pedestrians and motorists

Coyotes grab Okanagan boys title

George Elliott defeats Seaton in AA volleyball final, seeded third heading to provincials

ICBC overbilling for crash repairs not the problem, dealers say

Collision repair shops reject union claim of inflated costs

Last day for shoeboxes at Kelowna Gospel Fellowship

Kelowna church has been gathering gifts for kids in need in countries around the world

Owls soar to Okanagan volleyball title

KSS girls win 4A championship for 12th straight year beating Pen Hi in final

B.C. groups to address child sex abuse in sports

viaSport is organizing a full day of education in association with Canadian Centre for Child Protection and the Coaching Association of Canada.

Most Read