Kelowna 2014 civic award finalists revealed

The Civic and Community Awards recognize volunteers, artists, athletes and business leaders through 12 categories and 17 awards.

The City of Kelowna released the list of finalists of the 40th Annual Civic and Community Awards Monday.

The Civic and Community Awards recognize volunteers, artists, athletes and business leaders through 12 categories and 17 awards.

The award recipients from each category will be revealed on Thursday, April 30 as part of the gala ceremony taking place at the Kelowna Community Theatre.

“We are pleased with the exceptional nominations received in each of the award categories for this milestone year,” said Louise Roberts, Community and Neighbourhood Services Manager, in a press release.

“The awards highlight our residents, businesses and organizations that have made a significant contribution to making our city a better place to live.”

New for the 2014 awards, the finalists of the Young Male and Young Female Volunteer of the Year Awards will receive funding toward their post-secondary goals – $1,000 for the award recipient and $500 for each of the two finalists. The funding is sponsored by the Thomas Alan Budd Foundation.

Tickets for the gala are now available at a cost of $25 per person. To purchase tickets, please call 250-469-8811.

For more information about the awards, visit

2014 award finalists by category are (in alphabetical order):


Fred Macklin Memorial Award – Man of the Year

Dennis Gabelhouse

David Krysko

Todd Sanderson


Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award- Woman of the Year

Meryle Corbett

Margie Cox

Anna Hunt-Binkley


Young Male Volunteer of the Year

Nikolai Lesack

Jesse Stewart

Maliki Suppin


Young Female Volunteer of the Year

Chelsea Bigsot

Thish Rajapakshe

Kelty Slaney


Central Okanagan Foundation – Volunteer Organization of the Year

CRIS Adaptive Adventures

Pathways Abilities Society

United Way of the Central & South Okanagan Similkimeen


Corporate Community of the Year Award

Small /Medium Business

Synergy Events

Tetra Tech EBA Inc.

Wentworth Music


Large Business

Emil Anderson Construction

Kelowna Flightcraft

Save on Foods


Honour in the Arts

Jim Elwood

Jennifer Schell

Shawn Talbot


Teen Honour in the Arts

Alex Buck

Antony Knight

Zoe Welch


Female Augie Ciancone Memorial Award

Claire Culver

Emma Johnson

Joella Kablischke


Male Augie Ciancone Memorial Award

Michael Gini

Tyson Meraw

Jeff Tubbs


Bryan Couling Memorial Award – Athletic Team of the Year

Immaculata Senior Girls Volleyball Team

Okanagan Rockets – Boys Major Midget Hockey Team

UBC Okanagan Heat – Women’s Volleyball Team


Bob Giordano Memorial

Alisa Brownlee

Bill Farley

Tom Maxwell


Male Athlete of the year

Jerome Blake

James Turner

Robbie Yochim



Female Athlete of the Year

Sarah Casorso

Danielle Hennig

Kelsey Serwa


Champion for the Environment


Christian Brandt

Casey Hamilton

Barry Jones




St. Hubertus Estate Winery