Okanagan Arts Awards gala March 22

Okanagan Arts Awards 7th Annual Celebration goes March 22 at the Rotary Centre For The Arts'  Mary Irwin Theatre.

Founded in 2008, the Okanagan Arts Awards underlying purpose is to recognize individuals and groups for their outstanding achievement in the arts; for their significant contribution to the arts; or to their noteworthy support of the arts.

The arts are the soul of any community. They make a significant contribution to the social, physical, and economic well being of any community. As such, it is important to support and encourage those who are instrumental in ensuring the arts survive and thrive in the Okanagan Valley and beyond.

This year the Okanagan Arts Awards celebrates its seventh year. The magnificent red carpet evening will be a night of celebration, elegance and performance—a night to remember.

About The Nominations

The 2014 Okanagan Arts Awards have 13 categories, 12 are nominated with the 13th category of Lifetime Achievement selected by the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan.

Nominations arrive from throughout the Okanagan and Thompson regions. The criteria considered in the adjudication process include: eligibility, Okanagan-based achievements, quality and quantity of achievements, emerging verses established work, and general quality of the achievements. Both achievements in the chosen discipline of the arts as well as contributions to the community are considered using these criteria.


Nominees for the 2014 Okanagan Arts Awards

Arts Educator Award:

Rena Warren -  Kelowna

UBCO-Art History-Visual Culture -  Kelowna

Elizabeth Lupton -  Penticton


Central Okanagan Foundation Arts Association Award

Endery Artists Initiative -  Enderby

Kelowna Actors Studio -  Kelowna

Rotary Centre for the Arts - Kelowna


Culinary Arts

Geoffrey Couper -  Kelowna

Rod Butters -  Kelowna



Lucy Hazelwood -  Kelowna

Get Bent School of Belly Dancing & Performance Arts -  Penticton

Kinshira Performance Troupe -  Kelowna

Okanagan Dance Studios -  Penticton


Graphic Arts

Mishell K. Raedeke -  Lake Country

Timothy Tweed -  Penticton


Literary Arts

Patricia Ainslie - Kelowna

Jennifer Schell -  Kelowna

Shane Koyczan - Penticton


Media Arts

Mountain Lake Films, Wendy Ord & Glen Samuel -  Lake Country

Dave Mai - Penticton



Tony Koenen - Kelowna

Andrew Smith -  Kelowna

Jayme Knyx - Kelowna

Songwriters Stewdio - Kelowna


Supporter of the Arts

Lorel Sternig - Kamloops

Glenna Turnbull -  Kelowna

Claudia Kargl - Kelowna



Sound Stage Productions -  Penticton

Jordan Davies - Kelowna

Bumbershoot Theatre -  Kelowna


Visual Arts

Jaime Seward - Enderby

Ann Kipling -  Falkland

Angela Bonten - Kelowna

Glenn Clark -  Penticton


Youth Arts

Ben Klick -  Kelowna

Laura Sciarpelletti -  Kelowna

Cynthia Leigh-Ann Bjalek - Kelowna

Colleen Venables - Armstrong

Madison McMillan - Kelowna

Chloe & Kyle Davidson - Kelowna

Beamer Wigley - Penticton

Marko Prodanovic - Kelowna


Each year the Arts Council sends out a Call for Artists in the Okanagan and Thompson for a new sculptural design for the Arts Awards. The selected design for that year will be presented to each of that year’s Arts Awards recipients. The 2014 Okanagan Arts Award will be a three-dimensional stainless steel sculpture, titled ‘Okanelemental’ created by Vernon artist Julie Oakes with the help of blacksmith artist Doug Alcock.

During the Arts Awards Celebrations the Arts Council showcases a number of incredible Okanagan and Thompson artists. This showcase provides the audience the opportunity to experience and support several different art forms while supporting the winning nominees.

This year’s Okanagan Arts Awards Gala is more than an awards presentation—it is also an exciting performance-filled evening. The Red Carpet arts awards hosts are CBC's Chris Walker and Gillianne Richards.

Showcase performers include

  • Kinshira Fire Troupe

  • Half a Quorum with Anna Jacyszyn

  • Kitsch 'n' Sync

  • Jim Rhindress

  • Fusion Dance Academy

  • New Vintage Theatre

  • The Trips

  • Susan Athena Kerek Seel

  • Steve Todd

  • Andrew and Zachari Smith

  • Zebra Eyes Contemporary Dance.


The gala starts at 7 p.m. on March 22 in the Mary Irwin Theatre. Come early to meet the nominees starting at 6 p.m. in the Rotary Centre for the Arts upper lobby and enjoy delicacies prepared by two-time Gold Medal Champion chef Michael Lyon.

There will be an after party starting at 9 p.m. in the RCA Atrium. For tickets visit www.selectyourtickets.com or drop by the Rotary Centre for the Arts box office.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, February 2017

Add an Event