Television Listings

Finalists named for Giller book prize

TORONTO (Reuters) - Canada's prestigious Scotiabank Giller Prize announced its short list of finalists on Tuesday, after reviewing 96 books submitted from across the country.

The top prize of C$50,000 ($47,170) goes to the author of the best Canadian novel or short-story collection published in English. Each of the four other finalists will receive C$5,000.

The finalists for the Giller Prize, to be awarded at a gala in Toronto on November 10, are:

* Kim Echlin for her novel "The Disappeared," published by Hamish Hamilton Canada

* Annabel Lyon for her novel "The Golden Mean," published by Random House Canada

* Linden MacIntyre for his novel "The Bishop's Man," published by Random House Canada

* Colin McAdam for his novel "Fall," published by Hamish Hamilton Canada

* Anne Michaels for her novel "The Winter Vault," published by McClelland & Stewart

The Giller is Canada's most lucrative literary award. This year's jury is made up of U.S. novelist and short story writer Russell Banks, British author Victoria Glendinning and Canadian writer Alistair MacLeod.

($1=$1.06 Canadian)

(Reporting by Andrea Hopkins; editing by Rob Wilson)

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Burtynsky and Carr exhibition at the Kelowna Art Gallery
B.C.-only wines to come to some grocery stores
Canada man finds woman for free trip around world
Opinion: The pain and joy of Christmas
Salmo senior killed in collision
KIJHL: Yippee-yi-ooh... yippee-yi-ayy... Ghostriders midseason review
REVIEW: Cirque Musica Holiday Spectacular
Cavalcade of Comedy comes to Shatford Centre.
Marilyn Manson coming to SOEC

Community Events, December 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Dec 19 edition online now. Browse the archives.