Okanagan water board sports new look

Nearly half the directors on the Okanagan Basin Water Board are new, following last fall’s civic elections and new appointments to the board from regional districts in the valley.

The Central Okanagan Regional District has re-appointed West Kelowna Mayor Doug Findlator and Peachland Mayor Keith Fielding, and appointed new Kelowna Coun. Gerry Zimmermann. He replaces former Kelowna Coun. Graeme James, who was not re-elected.

Current OBWB chairman and Osoyoos Mayor Stu Wells was re-appointed representing the Okanagan-Similkameen, along with rural area director Michael Brydon, and with newly-elected rural area director Tom Siddon. He replaces Summerland Coun. Gordon Clark, who was defeated in his bid for re-election.

Siddon served as inaugural chairman of the Okanagan Water Stewardship Council, a technical advisory committee to the OBWB, so he was a member of the OBWB for several years representing that body.

In the north, rural area director Rick Fairbairn was re-appointed by the North Okanagan regional district, along with Coldstream Coun. Doug Dirk and Vernon Coun. Juliette Cunningham. They replace Lake Country Mayor James Baker and Vernon Coun. Buffy Baumbrough.

In addition, Toby Pike represents the Water Supply Association of B.C. on the board, while OWSC chairman Bernie Bauer represents that council on the board. James Pepper from the Okanagan Nation Alliance also continues as a member of the OBWB.

The next meeting of the board will be Feb. 7 in Kelowna when a chairman will be elected.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Community Events, February 2017

Add an Event