Kelowna announces Civic Awards finalists

Judie Steeves -
Judie Steeves
— image credit:

In just under two months, the City of Kelowna will name the recipients of the 39th Annual Civic and Community Awards.

The nominees for those 17 awards in 12 different categories were revealed today.

“It was a record breaking year for the number of nominations we received, which made our selection committee’s job even harder,” said Jim Gabriel, divisional director, active Living and culture for the City of Kelowna.

“Kelowna is a great place to live not only because of our surroundings but more so because of the people who live and work in this community. The awards capture how inspired we are as a community and highlight our residents, businesses and organizations that have made a significant difference by enhancing the lives of others and making our city a better place to live.”

The 2013 award finalists by category are:

Fred Macklin Memorial - Man of the Year

Jim Belshaw

Sean Pihl

Darryl Reuter


Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial - Woman of the Year

Carole Bridges

Jody Pihl

Rose Sexsmith


Young Male of the Year

Johnathan Charlton

John Gay

Kolby Zinger-Harris


Young Female of the Year

Melissa Curatolo

Freya Kellet

Pauline Schrott


Central Okanagan Foundation – Volunteer Organization of the Year

Freedom’s Door

Hands in Service

Seniors Outreach Society


Corporate Community of the Year Award

Small /Medium Business

Mavazi Apparel

Pace Sports Fitness

Urban Harvest


Large Business

Cooper’s Foods, Rutland

Grant Thornton LLP

Royal LePage


Honour in the Arts

Jan Harvey

Yuriko Larson

Glenna Turnbull


Teen Honour in the Arts

Mikayla Jones

Mandy Jong

Marko Prodanovic


Female Augie Ciancone Memorial

Hannah Johnson

Jacquline Sellers

Carys Swann


Male Augie Ciancone Memorial

Liam Duncan

Josiah Joseph

Aaron Stroda


Bryan Couling Memorial – Athletic Team of the Year

Kelowna Christian School Senior Boys Basketball Team

Kelowna Christian School Senior Girls Volleyball Team

UBCO Heat, Women’s Cross-Country Running Team


Bob Giordano Memorial

Dino Gini

Dan Proulx

John Sharples


Male Athlete of the year

Alex Hart

Eric Neilson

Josh Zakala

Female Athlete of the Year

Julianne Delaurier

Danielle Gruber

Keely Watts-Watling


Champion for the Environment


John Campbell McInnes

Jenica Frisque

Judie Steeves



House of Rose Winery

London Drugs

Summerhill Winery

Award recipients from each category will be revealed on Thursday, May 1, as part of the gala ceremony taking place at the Kelowna Community Theatre.

Tickets will be available March 17 at a cost of $25 per person. To purchase tickets,call 250-469-8811.

For more information, visit

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, February 2017

Add an Event