Bill Bosch elected BCWF president

Lake Country's Bill Bosch, former president of the Oceola Fish and Game Club has been elected president of the B.C. Wildlife Federation.

Bill Bosch, former president of the Oceola Fish and Game Club, was elected president of the B.C. Wildlife Federation at its 56th annual general meeting in Courtenay on the weekend.

More than 250 delegates from around the province attended the four-day convention, including delegates and youth delegates from local clubs such as the Oceola club, the Peachland Sportsmen’s Association, the Black Mountain Sportsman’s Association and the Kelowna and District Fish and Game Club.

They rubbed shoulders with, and heard talks from politicians such as Premier Christy Clark,  Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations Minister Steve Thomson, Agriculture Minister Don McRae, local MPs and MLAs, mayors and government staff.

Other speakers included marine biologist Alexandra Morton and Grand Chief Stewart Phillip.

More than $72,000 was raised at the annual fund-raiser for conservation projects around the province.

Although Bosch has been on the board for a number of years, including as vice-president the past year, he said being in the top position will be a learning curve for him.

Continuing work on fish and wildlife issues will be a feature of the coming term, along with efforts to resolve resource allocation issues, he said.

Lobby work will continue to try and encourage the provincial government to allot funds for doing wildlife inventory work, he said.

There was a good turnout of young people at this year’s convention, and they were delighted to be photographed with the premier, he commented.

Membership in the BCWF had dipped to around 27,000 a few years ago, but it’s gradually been building back up and is estimated at 41,000 now.

Bosch is joined on the executive by fellow Oceola club member Jesse Zeman who is finishing his two-year term.

The other members of the executive are: vice-presidents Rick Mayor of Dawson Creek and George Wilson of Fernie, and treasurer John Shepherd of Courtenay. Directors are Joan McKay of Oliver, Carl Gitcheff of Dawson Creek, John Thornton of Victoria, Ed George of Delta, Doug Peck of Sparwood, Richard Green and Harvey Andrusak of Nelson.


Just Posted

Valley Road closed 24-7, for now

Kelowna road closure extended due to safety concerns to build creek retaining wall

Accused killer’s fate in the hands of Kelowna jury

The jury is expected to start deliberating this afternoon

Silver Creek RCMP search expands north

RCMP were seen collecting evidence three kilometres north of the farm where human remains were found

Above and beyond for the United Way

Local company keeps on raising money for the United Way of the Central Okanagan

Have your say on downtown parking in Kelowna

Open house scheduled for Tuesday, Oct. 24.

Rally condemns violence, promotes healing

Discovery of human remains and disappearances of women have created tension in the rural community

Justice to decide court’s jurisdiction over Indigenous man

Alex Louie, also known as Senklip, is standing trial over 9 charges related to alleged gun smuggling

Province grants $784,000 for Okanagan projects

Rural Dividend grants support Okanagan community projects

B.C. NDP convention set for Victoria

Premier, federal leader Jagmeet Singh to add energy

B.C. school trustee calls LGBTQ school program ‘weapon of propaganda’

Chilliwack’s Barry Neufeld published the comments on his Facebook page

B.C. couple hope boat drone becomes first to cross Atlantic

Colin and Julie Angus of Victoria to have drone collect environmental data en route

Driver trapped for 16 hours after car flips

Member of Anarchist Mountain Volunteer Fire Department in Osoyoos made discovery while out for walk

Penticton pilots new mobile parking payment app

Eliminating the need to carry change for parking meters

Most Read