Kelowna civic award recipients unveiled

Kelowna Community Theatre hosted 39th annual Kelowna Civic & Community Awards

  • Fri May 2nd, 2014 8:00pm
  • News

The 39th annual Kelowna Civic & Community Awards were handed out last night at a ceremony held in the Kelowna Community Theatre.

Heading up the list of winners this year were Rose Sexsmith, recipient of the  Sarah Donald – Treadgold Memorial Award as Woman of the Year, and Sean Phil, winner of the Fred Macklin Memorial Award as Man of the Year.

Award recipieints in the other categories were:

Teen Honour in the Arts —Mandy Jong

Honour in the Arts—Glenna Turnbull

Young Female of the Year—Pauline Schrott

Young Male of the Year—Jonathan Charlton

The Central Okanagan Foundation, Volunteer Organization of the Year—Freedom’s Door

Corporate Community of the Year – Small to Medium Business—Mavazi Apparel

Corporate Community of the Year ( Large Business)—Cooper’s Foods Rutland Store

Champion for the Environment (Individual)—Judie Steeves

Champion for the Environment (Business) —House of Rose Winery

Bob Giordano Memorial Award—Dino Gini

Bryan Couling Memorial, Athletic Team of the Year Award—Kelowna Christian School Senior Boys Basketball Team

Augie Ciancone Memorial Award (Female)—Jacqueline Sellers

Augie Ciancone Memorial Award (Male)—Josiah Joseph

Female Athlete of the Year—Keely Watts-Watling

Male Athlete of the Year—Alex Hart

Anita Tozer Memorial—The Kelowna Gospel Mission Volunteer Dentists

The sponsors of this year’s awards event included Central Okanagan Foundation, FortisBC, Grant Thornton,the Capital News, Kelowna Community Resources, UBCO, Aberdeen Hall, Mark of Distinction, Bell Media, Little Straw Vineyard, Castanet, Prospera Credit Union, Best Western Plus and YMCA of Okanagan.

For more on the Civic & Community Awards, visit