Nobel prize winners to be discussed at UBC Okanagan in Kelowna

This year's winners include singer-songwriter Bob Dylan and Columbian President Juan Manuel Santos.

Bob Dylan, machines the size of molecules, optimal contracts and civil unrest in Colombia.

While these topics may seem to have nothing in common, they are bought together by Alfred Nobel’s prestigious annual prizes.

And this year’s six Nobel Prize winners will be the topic of conversation at UBC Okanagan’s fourth annual Nobel Night, Dec. 8 starting at 7 p.m.

Nobel Night is a tradition at UBC’s Okanagan campus in Kelowna, a chance for professors to discuss the significance of this year’s Nobel recipients—some of the world’s most outstanding contributors in medicine, physics, chemistry, literature, economics and peace.

This year they include Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos and singer-song writer Bob Dylan.

Following the panel discussion, there will be an opportunity to ask questions.

The event is free and open to public. Pay parking is available on campus. While the event is free, donations to the United Way will be accepted. Register at nobelnight.

The event ill take place in the lecture theatre in the Fipke Centre for Innovative Research on the UBC Okanagan campus is Kelowna.

The Nobel prizes were inaugurated in 1901 when Alfred Nobel willed his remaining estate be endowed “to prizes to those who, during the preceding year, shall have conferred the greatest benefit to mankind.”

Each year since then, laureates are named for their contributions in one of six categories including medicine, physics, chemistry, literature, economics and peace.

The prizes are awarded Dec.10 in Stockholm and Oslo concurrently.

The UBCO researchers who will speak about this years winners include:

• Senior instructor Ray Taheri, School of Engineering—physics

• Assistant chemistry professor Isaac Li, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences—chemistry

• Associate biology professor Bruce Mathieson, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences—medicine

• Associate English professor Oliver Lovesey, Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies—literature

• Associate history professor Jessica Stites Mor, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences—peace

• Assistant economics professor Ross Hickey, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences—The Sveriges Riksmbank Prize in Economic Sciences.