Kelowna's Tyler Borradaile is the Canadian hang gliding champion for 2015.

Kelowna man tops in Canadian hang gliding

Tyler Borradaile wins national championship held in Lumby

  • Sat Jul 18th, 2015 8:00pm
  • Sports

There aren’t an abundance of people who can pilot a hang glider more efficiently for effectively than Tyler Borradaile.

That much was evident earlier this month as the Kelowna man captured the 2015 Canadian Hang Gliding Championship in Lumby.

The win earned Boradaille an entry into the Pre World Championship next year and the World Championships in Brazil in 2017.

The event was five rounds held over a seven-day stretch.

Competing against 26 pilots from six countries in the open competition, Boradaille won the title on points, placing ahead of Ross Hunter of Calgary, the 2010 champion.

Defending John Theoret of Prince Albert, Sask., finished third.

The event was five rounds held over a seven-day stretch.

David Bacon of Summerland won the King Post division, while second and third went to Stewart Trowsdale and Ralph Herten both of Vancouver.

Competition was world class and included world and North American record holder Dustin Martin who flew 760 kilometrs in his hang glider in Texas in 2014.

The winner in the open class competition, which excluded all Canadians, was won by David Gibson of Utah.

One woman, Jamie Shelden of Florida, competed in the meet and finished 17th overall.

The competition each day consisted of flying from a launch site around set turn-points, measured with GPS and racing into the finish most often at the Freedom Flight Park in Lumby.

Each race averaged about 80km,  with altitudes reaching 12000 feet.

Meet organizers and Lumby Air Force Directors, Randy Rauck and Garth Hemming presented Boradaille with his  trophy and $500 in prize money.

Prizes totalling $2,800 were awarded to the top three Canadians, top five overall, and top three in the king post division.

It was the 11th Canadian National Foot Launched, Free Flight Championship the club has produced since the mid-1970s.

The previous championship, in 2010, attracted 18 competitors.