Ehren Woodward was one of 46 Ogopogo Swim Club members to compete last weekend at the B.C. summer swimming championships in Kamloops.

Ogopogos make big splash in Kamloops

Kelowna-based swim club picks up 11 medals at B.C. summer swimming championships

  • Thu Aug 21st, 2014 5:00am
  • Sports

Ogopogo Swim Club members turned in a solid performance at the B.C. summer  provincial championships in Kamloops last weekend, winning 11 medals and breaking 13 club records and making it on to the podium 11 times.

Flyn Huber lead the way in the Div. 2 boys category breaking four club records and winning four medals along the way. Huber, took the gold in 100 IM bettering his own club record by 3 seconds clocking a time of 1:20.83 He also bettered his own records in 50 back and 50 fly swimming to silver and bronze medals. Huber also broke the 50 freestyle club record clocking a time of 32. 36 and taking bronze.

Joining Huber on the medal podium, was Div. 6 swimmer Randi Thompson. Thompson swam to two bronze and two club records in the 50 and 100 meter butterfly races. She bettered her previous 100 fly best time by four seconds clocking a time of 1:08.80

Other record breakers included Madison Dickie who finished fourth in Div. 5 100 meter breaststroke bettering the club record by 1/100 of a second. Cameron McInnes broke the division five 50 fly club record by clocking a time of 31.07 and finishing sixth in his category.

Finishing sixth in the Div. 2 50 meter breaststroke, saw Andrea Kraetzer better her own record and finish with a time of 43.50. Makenna Haight bettered her own best time in division four 50 butterfly clocking a time of 31.76 and finishing fourth.

Haight teamed up with kennedy Dickie, Rachel Schueler and Michelle Kraetzer to take bronze in the division four female 200 medley relay breaking the club record by six seconds. Kraetzer swam a best time in the freestyle anchor leg to help the team reach the podium.

On the boys side, Cameron McInnes, Matthew McDonald, Ehren Woodward and Carter Fortney broke the division four medley relay record by 8 seconds and took bronze. All four boys swam to best times, and Ehren Woodward took 5 seconds on his 50 breaststroke time to help the team secure third.

The division six team consisting of Randi Thompson, Emalie Schuler, Madison Dickie, and Denby Huber took bronze as well. Kennedy Dickie, Rachel Schueler, Makenna Haight and Marli Gallagher teamed up to take bronze in the 200 freestyle relay in record time.

Other outstanding results saw Rachel McInnes (Div. 3) better her times in everything she swam and qualify for consolation finals in all of her races. Kylie Haight swam to two best times and finished seventh in division two 50 fly. Denby Huber swam to a best of 1:12.60 in division five 100 backstroke finishing fourth. Braelyn Cutforth swam in three consolation finals in the Div. 1 category.

Other provincial competitors included Justin Androchow, Maya Andruchow, Noel Arnason, Noah Broaderip, Isabelle Cloutier, Maddie Cloutier, Isis Darosa, Fraser Davis, Madelyn Degruchy, Clara Dickieson, Oliver Dickieson, Patrick Epman, Connor Hobbs, Gracie Huber, Jennifer Hunter, Logan Lalonde, Emma Middleton, Julia Nickerson, Olivia NIckerson, Charlotte Phillips, Alex  Sewell, Kyra Sewell, Tage Stevens, and Jounee Tozer.