Okanagan Sun defensive lineman Hayden Hamilton drags down Vancouver Island Raiders quarterback Liam O'Brien in BCFC action Sunday at the Apple Bowl.

Sun sack attack subdues Raiders

Okanagan racks up BCFC record for QB sacks in win Sunday at Apple Bowl

The Okanagan Sun one-upped themselves with a record-setting effort on Sunday afternoon at the Apple Bowl.

The Sun recorded a BCFC-record 13 quarterback sacks en route to a 28-7 victory over the rival Vancouver Island Raiders.

Defensive end Jonas Gering led the charge with four sacks, while Lucas Machado added three in the Sun’s assault on the Raiders’ O-line and quarterback Liam O’Brien.

Earlier this season, the Sun had a standard-equalling 10 sacks in a 27-3 triumph over the Raiders at Caledona Park in Nanaimo.

The unbeaten Sun (7-0), with yet another dominant performance on defence, has yielded just 43 points in seven games this season

“Every one does their job and that opens up the holes for everyone,” Sun defensive lineman Lucas Machado said of the Sun’s latest performance.

“It’s a very unselfish team so it doesn’t really matter who’s getting the sacks, who’s getting the stats. We just know someone is going to get them at some point and that’s what really matters.”

Defensive back Brennan Van Nistelrooy picked off his sixth pass of the season to lead the CJFL in interceptions.

On offence, Sun QB Cam Bedore threw three touchdown passes, one to Lerone Robinson in the first half and two more to Kyle Kawamoto in the second half.

Okanagan also scored six points on a trio of safeties given up by the Raiders from punt formation.

Head coach Shane Beatty, who turned 46 on Sunday, said it was a nice way to celebrate his birthday.

“That’s awesome, I’m very pleased with that,” Beatty said, crediting his defence with another solid effort. “We’re very good up front. In our secondary we have three kids who might be able to play at the next level. They’re all playing fast and they’re young…”

Okanagan returns to action next Sunday when they host the Kamloops Broncos. Kick off at the Apple Bowl is 1 p.m.