Coquitlam’s Alex Woinoski (left) won the Rattlesnake Island Swim 7.1 km event, while Kelowna’s Erin Epp was first in the 3.1 km race. -Image: Contributed

Teens take top awards in Rattlesnake Island Swim

Alex Woinoski and Erin Epp win their respective races Saturday in Okanagan Lake

Coquitlam’s Alex Woinoski left the competition in his wake Saturday at the 2017 edition of the Interior Savings Rattlesnake Island Swim.

Woinoski completed the 7 km swim in Okanagan Lake in one hour 44 minutes 57 seconds, winning by more than six minutes.

Summerland’s Haley Berrisford was the first female finisher and second overall in 1:51:10, while Kelowna’s Sean Orb took third in 1:54:41.

The 7 km event is an out-and-back swim from Peachland that loops around the back of Rattlesnake Island.

Kelowna 13-year-old Erin Epp showed the way in the 3.1 km event. Erin completed the one-way swim from Rattlesnake to the shores of Peachland in 56 minutes 9 seconds.

Abbotsford’s Erica Thomson was second in 57:29, while West Kelowna’s Kassidie Cornell made it a 1-2-3 female sweep placing third in 57:55.

Forty-one swimmers completed the 7 km distance, while 127 completed the 3.1 km event.

For complete results from the Rattlesnake Island Swim, see