UBCO Heat Volleyballers Win National Awards

Coach and two players signalled out for strong season

Preston Tucker, Caitlin Nyhus and Steve Manuel will each have a special piece of hardware to remember their final season in the BCCAA by.

The UBC Okanagan Heat volleyball threesome have been named winners of the conference’s major individual awards.

Tucker, the fourth-year setter with the Heat, has been named the BCCAA men’s player of the year.

Nyhus, the Heat’s setter and the lone graduating member of the UBCO team, has been named the female player of the year.

Women’s coach Steve Manuel has been recognized as the coach of the year for 2010-11 after leading the Heat to a 13-1 record.

Manuel has won the award five times in his 10 seasons on the job.

The men’s team had three players named to the BCCAA first all-star squad: Preston Tucker, Greg Niemantsverdriet and Nate Speijer.

Speijer and Niemantsverdriet finished second and third, respectively, in total points—blocks, kills and aces—in the BCCAA.

Colten Litwin was named to the all-rookie team.

Caitlin Nyhus and Alex Basso were named to the women’s first all-star team, while Myrte Schon picked up second team recognition.

Basso led the conference in kills this season with 3.65 per game.

Emily Caroll and Chandler Proch were both named to the BCCAA’s all-rookie team.