Brennan Van Nistelrooy (left) and Kyle Kawamoto are the Sun's team MVPs for 2015.

Van Nistelrooy, Kawamoto are Sun co-MVPs

Okanagan completes unbeaten season Saturday in Kamloops, honours top players on Sunday

After their first undefeated season since 2004 and clinching their 19th first-place finish, the Okanagan Sun celebrated their individual accomplishments Sunday at the year-end team awards banquet at the Coast Capri Hotel.

Defensive back Brennan Van Nistelrooy and receiver Kyle Kawamoto were named co-winners as the Sun’s MVP.

Van Nistelrooy, 22, led the BCFC with six interceptions, while Kawamoto, 22, led the Sun in receptions (41) and receiving yards (1,005) while scoring 10 touchdowns.

The following are all of the Sun award winners:

Scoring Leader – Thomas Huber (kicker/receiver) – third consecutive year

Community Award – Kyle Patchell (receiver) – second consecutive year and Keagan Hughes

Most Inspirational Player in memory of JT Fernandez – Cliff Crews (Offensive Lineman)

Most Improved Player – Cord Delinte (Defensive Back) – second consecutive year

Okanagan High School Player of the Year – Kyle Patchell (Receiver, KSS Grad)

Most Popular Player (voted by the players) – Brennan Van Nistelrooy (Defensive Back/Punter)

Most Sportsmanlike Player – Keagan Hughes (Linebacker)

Special Teams Player – Brennan Van Nistelrooy (Punter/Defensive Back)

Top Defensive Back – Brennan Van Nistelrooy – third consecutive year

Top Linebacker – Layne Hull & Keagan Hughes

Top Offensive Back – Cam Bedore (Quarterback) and Josiah Joseph (Quarterback)

Top Receiver – Kyle Kawamoto

Top Defensive Lineman – Jonas Gering and Lucas Machado

Top Offensive Lineman – Cliff Crews

Rookie of the Year – Kent Lawrence and Hayden Hamilton

Most Valuable Players – Brennan Van Nistelrooy and Kyle Kawamoto

The Sun will now begin preparation for the Kamloops Broncos in the BCFC Semi-Final on Sunday, Oct. 18 at 1 p.m. at the Apple Bowl.

If the Sun wins, they will host the Cullen Cup BCFC Championship game on Oct. 25 for the second consecutive year.

The winner of the BCFC will travel to the Prairies and the Canadian Bowl on Nov. 7, a game the Sun has not played in since 2004.



Just Posted

New multi-million baggage system up and running at YLW

Kelowna Airport’s $39 million outbound baggage system can handle 900 bags an hour

New safety doors aim to protect transit drivers

These new full-length doors will be tested in Victoria, Kelowna and Abbotsford

Death and fire not treated as suspicious

RCMP has turned the invesigation of Monday’s fire on Gaggin Road over to the BC Coroners Service

Reworked plan for Kelowna’s Green Square development approved

After rejecting first version of residential development expansion, council says yes to new plan

Police searching for GoPro owner

Police are looking for the owner of a GoPro seized by police in Kelowna

One person sent to hospital after fire near Keremeos

Fire ripped through a shed and Winnebego at Sunkatchers RV Park Co-operative

Penticton Indian Band selects five new councillors

PIB aiming for internal reconciliation after by-election

Chiefs ground Rockets in Spokane

Former Rockets’ head coach Dan Lambert leads his Chiefs past Kelowna Wednesday in WHL action

Education minister blasts Chilliwack school trustee on gender issues

Fleming calls Neufeld’s behaviour ‘shameful’ and ‘unacceptable’

Two types of civic engagement in PIB

Some voted in the byelection, others protested the polls, as Penticton Indian Band fissures continue

‘Fresh eyes’ looking into three missing Cowichan Tribes men

First Nations want answers to their disappearances

Pedestrian hit moments after receiving safety reflector from police

The Vancouver Island man was treated for minor injuries by police at the scene

FortisBC LNG site exports first shipment of gas to China

The shipment is part of a pilot project that could see more exports in the future.

BC RCMP hunt for white SUV that rammed cruiser

Kamloops RCMP are looking for a white SUV headed north on the Yellowhead Highway

Most Read