Kelowna business award nominees revealed

Seventeen finalists will be honoured Oct. 17 at the 25th annual Business Excellence Awards.

It will be awards night for the Kelowna business community on Oct. 17 at the 25th annual  Business Excellence Awards held at The Delta Grand.

Six category recipients will be announced, including the Business Leader of the Year, from among the 17 nominees.

Presented by the Kelowna Chamber of Commerce and Platinum Sponsors the Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) and Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP, the popular Kelowna event is part of the annual Small Business Week activities taking place Oct. 14 to 20.

“As we celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Business Excellence Awards and recognize this talented group of entrepreneurs, we are impressed with the depth and breadth of Kelowna’s dynamic business community,” said Caroline Grover, CEO for the Kelowna Chamber. “We are equally inspired by the innovation and tenacity demonstrated by the finalists and their companies.”

The Business Excellence Awards program celebrates achievement in our business community with finalists in each category selected from a wide group of nominations. The panel of judges visits all of the finalists and will judge them on the growth and development of their business, customer service, employee relations and community service.

Nominated businesses must have been operating for longer than three years (with the exception of the Rising Star Award) and have a letter from their banker or accountant confirming that they are financially sound.

“It is important for us to recognize our business leaders for their successes and innovations,” said  Dominic Petraroia, managing partner of Farris’ Kelowna office.  “Each of the finalists represents a unique accomplishment that has helped to strengthen the local economy and enrich our community.  Congratulations to all of the finalists and we celebrate their achievement.”


The Business Excellence Finalists for 2012:

RISING STAR AWARD (in business less than 3 years)

•    Crescendo

•    Optic Signs & Marketing Inc.

•    Rock House of Design Inc.

Sponsored by: FortisBC

SMALL BUSINESS AWARD (1-10 employees)

•    Centralaire Ltd.

•    Distinctly Kelowna Tours

•    S & T Leone Holdings

Sponsored by: Prospera Credit Union

MID-SIZE BUSINESS AWARD (11-30 employees)

•    Plan B Headquarters

•    Vineyard Networks

Sponsored by: BDO Canada LLP

LARGE BUSINESS AWARD (31+ employees)

•    Andres TV Sales & Service Ltd.

•    JDS Energy & Mining Inc.

Sponsored by: MacKay LLP


•    Central Okanagan Crime Stoppers Society

•    Crossroads Integrative Addiction Services

•    Fresh Outlook Foundation

•    Kelowna Community Food Bank

Sponsored by: Urban Systems Ltd.


•    Joel Kutschera, Vital Waters Inc.

•    Sam Shakura, Rock House of Design Inc.

•    CJ Wilkins, Optic Signs & Marketing Inc.


The recipient of the prestigious Business Leader of the Year award, sponsored by Ian Stuart & Associates, will be announced prior to the awards dinner.

For more information regarding tickets, contact Dicky Dack, operations manager for the Kelowna Chamber of Commerce, at 250-469-7350 or email

Kelowna Capital News

Be Among The First To Know

Sign up for a free account today, and receive top headlines in your inbox Monday to Saturday.

Sign Up with google Sign Up with facebook

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Reset your password

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

A link has been emailed to you - check your inbox.

Don't have an account? Click here to sign up
Pop-up banner image