New board for DKA

Downtown Kelowna Association selects its board of directors for 2016-2017, effect immediately.

DKAThe Downtown Kelowna Association selected its 2016-2017 board of directors at its annual general meeting held Wednesday, June 1. The new board took effect immediately.

In a press release, the association called the new board an excellent mix of the various types of businesses found in Downtown Kelowna.

President – Dan Allen – Doc Willoughby’s Public House

Vice-president – Yarden Gershony – Rush Ihas Hardwick LLP

Treasurer – Rob Collins – Grant Thornton LLP

Secretary – Angie Bricker – Georgie Girl Vintage

Past president – Dustin Sargent – Streaming Café & Davara Enterprises


Nikki Csek* – Csek Creative

Jason Guyitt* – Delta Grand Okanagan Resort

Jan Johnson – Tigerlily Fashions

Brent Lobson – Imperial Parking

Jim Meiklejohn – Meiklejohn Architects

Renata Mills – Festivals Kelowna

Trevor Neill – Mosaic Books

Renee Wasylyk – Troika Developments

Ex-Officio – Councillor Maxine DeHart, City of Kelowna

*denotes new member

“I’m honoured to be named the Downtown Kelowna Association president,” said long time board member Dan Allen. “Downtown has very exciting momentum right now with development both in commercial property and residential. We have seen our downtown experience amazing growth in the last few years and I expect it to continue here in 2016 and beyond. I’m also excited to work with small business downtown and for what lays ahead.”

The DKA thanked outgoing directors for their years of dedicated service to the DKA: Luigi Coccaro, La Bussola Restaurant & The Curious Café and Perry Freeman of Colliers International.

The Downtown Kelowna Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to ensuring that the Downtown Business Improvement Area (BIA) is a safe and desirable place to conduct business, live, work and enjoy through the cooperative efforts of its members and government.


Kelowna Capital News