Kyleen Myrah receives the President’s Award from Okanagan College president Jim Hamilton.

Kyleen Myrah receives the President’s Award from Okanagan College president Jim Hamilton.

SIFE founder receives Okanagan College President’s Award

Highest college award honour given to Kyleen Myrah, founder of the Students in Free Enterprise Okanagan program.

The Okanagan School of Business professor behind the establishment of the successful SIFE Okanagan program has received Okanagan College’s highest employee honour – the President’s Award.

Kyleen Myrah received the award at the College’s inaugural Employee Excellence Awards presentation held recently at the Kelowna campus.

Okanagan College established these awards to recognize the many outstanding contributions employees of all kinds make to the development of both the college and the greater community. The awards are to be handed out annually for a wide-range of achievements including innovation, scholarly activity, and service excellence.

The President’s Award recognizes an employee who gives outstanding service to Okanagan College, and is actively engaged in the college community.

“The teaching excellence at Okanagan College, combined with strong ties to the local community, is what makes a difference for students throughout the region,” said Okanagan College president Jim Hamilton.

Jennifer Andrews, who studied under Myrah at the School of Business and took part in SIFE, recently acknowledged the professor for her teaching expertise when she received one of only 22 Premier’s Scholarships in the province.

“Okanagan College is an incredible school and the professors really care about us students and want us to succeed,” Andrews said.

More than 100 students across all four college campuses take part in SIFE Okanagan. The students receive support from 10 faculty advisors, including Myrah, along with another 40 business advisory committee members.

Myrah was one of many employees honoured with an Employee Excellence Award.

Chef Geoffrey Couper, who is known for his engaging classes in the Culinary Arts program in Kelowna, was also recognized for his teaching ability. A leader in the local ‘farm to table’ movement, Couper received a Teaching Excellence Award.

Other Kelowna campus award recipients are:

Mike Minions – Service Excellence, Individual

(Educational Technology Coordinator)

Rick Montagnon and Dave Sandberg – Service Excellence, Group

(Facilities Service Workers)

Yvonne Moritz – Strong Start

(Dean of Science, Technologies and Health)

Michael Orwick – Innovation

(Professor, Okanagan School of Business)


Kelowna Capital News