Julia Chambers (Sally Bowles) and Nathan Flavel (Emcee) will be featured in Cabaret this October. - Image Contributed

Actors Studio going seedy with Cabaret

Kelowna Actors Studio will bring long running musical to the local stage

It’s a play that could very well have been set in today’s era with themes of fear and state terror.

Cabaret, the Tony award-winning musical that carries a political wallop, will be on Kelowna stages this October, when the Kelowna Actors Studio brings a multi-week run to the area, from Oct. 11 to 29 (Wed. through Sun.)

Based on a 1951 play, Cabaret premiered on Broadway in 1966 and won eight Tony Awards, including Best Musical, in addition to the New York Drama Critics’ Circle Award, the Outer Critics’ Circle Award, the Variety Poll of New York Critics, and London’s Evening Standard Award.

A 1972 movie starring Liza Minnelli and Joel Grey went on to win eight Academy Awards.

And now the Kelowna Actors Studio, behind director Randy Leslie (Rocky Horror), takes audiences deep into the seedy nightlife of the Kit Kat Klub on the eve of Hitler’s rise to power in Weimar Germany. The play follows the interlocking stories of a cabaret singer, a writer from America, and the denizens of Berlin as they are caught up in the swirling maelstrom of a changing society.

“It isn’t just that Cabaret is a beloved and compelling piece of theatre and the winner of eight Tony Awards,” said Leslie, Kelowna Actors Studio’s founder. “It’s set in a seedy nightclub, with characters that are not only complex and dark, but funny and delightful – all in all, deeply human.”

Rocky Horror; Mary Poppins) as the Emcee, Julia Chambers (Spring Awakening; Anne of Green Gables) as Sally Bowles, Desmond Parenteau (Billy Elliot) as the writer Clifford Bradshaw, Eva Cortens (Anne of Green Gables; Jesus Christ Superstar) as Fräulein Schneider, Ron Green (A Christmas Story, August Osage County) as Herr Schultz, Kristal Hunter (Billy Elliot; The Great Gatsby) as Fräulein Kost and newcomer Jason Casey as Ernst Ludwig.

The remaining cast members include Tiernan Lafleur Johnson, Brock Keeler, Timothy Harder, Alex Holowaty, Janice Sorestad, Karen Shale, Karlisa Hiebert, Jennifer Davies, Mikayla Miyashita, Dawna Elias and Megan Edwards.


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Just Posted

Need to catch up on news? You’re covered

Every Saturday the Capital News will highlight stories from the week

Big White board school among best

Director of snow sports, Josh Foster, is one of the top instructors in Canada

Seniors prefer funeral to lifestyle planning

Survey finds 73% of seniors have a will, only 13% have long-term care plan

Okanagan College business students soar

Medal winners at Western Canadian Business Competition

UBCO civil engineer touts cohousing option

Gord Lovegrove says cohousing is sustainable social and economic lifestyle

VIDEO: B.C. Mounties reunite veteran with lost military medals

RCMP say Zora Singh Tatla, who served in the army in India for 28 years, is the righful owner

4 facts to ring in St. Patrick’s Day

What do you really know about the Irish celebration?

Experts urging caution as rabbits die by the hundreds in B.C. city

Province of B.C. confirms more positive tests for rabbit haemorrhagic disease

Federal government seeks public feedback on pedestrian safety

What safety measures do you think need to improved for pedestrians and cyclists?

Search continues for 10-year-old Montreal boy missing since Monday

Montreal police said they are exploring every possibility in search for Ariel Jeffrey Kouakou

Airline passenger-rights bill claws back protections for travellers: Advocate

Bill C-49 would double tarmac delays, scrap compensation for flights affected by mechanical failures

How to keep local news visible in your Facebook feed

Facebook has changed the news feed to emphasize personal connections. You might see less news.

Canadian research vessel to explore 19th Century shipwrecks

Commissioned this week in Victoria, the RV David Thompson is Parks Canada’s newest vessel

UPDATED: ‘New wave’ of anti-pipeline protests return to Trans Mountain facility

About 100 demonstrators with Protect the Inlet marched to the Burnaby terminal Saturday

Most Read