Lake Country’s McCoubrey wins ARTSCO Lifetime Achievement award

Sharon McCoubrey has been pushing the arts in the Okanagan Valley for years.

Sharon McCoubrey

On May 28, 13 Okanagan Arts Awards were presented by the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan.

ARTSCOSharon McCoubrey has been pushing the arts in Lake Country for years and now her lifetime of artistic endeavours have been recognized.

Over her career McCoubrey has succeeded in integrating two of her passions: Education and community arts.

She is a Professor Emeritus with the Faculty of Education at UBC Okanagan, with a specialization in art education.

McCoubrey has been given a number of awards for her work in art education and public art. She is currently past president of the Arts Council of the Central Okanagan, is a director of the Central Okanagan Foundation, chair of the Lake Country Public Art Commission, president of the Lake Country Art Gallery Society, and is in her 15th year as chair of Lake Country ArtWalk.

These were the ninth annual award presentations. The other  winners were:

Visual Arts: Laurie Koss

Dance : Janessa McGrath

Music: Andrew Judah

Literature: Michael V. Smith

Theatre: Robert Mason-Brown

Time Based Media: Todd Ramsay

Applied Arts: Art Felt Collaborative

Art & Business: Carrie Mayhew

Business Supporter: The Heritage Retirement Residence

Emerging Artist: Kelsie Balehowsky

Innovation: Opera Kelowna

Community Impact: Lake Country Art Gallery.

In a press release, ARTSCO explained how each winner was vetted for their accomplishments according to a set of criteria to recognize, foster and encourage excellence in the arts:

Public Presentation – work that has been publicly presented and acknowledged by cultural institutions, organizations or other outstanding practitioners (local,regional, national or international)

Peer Recognition – attained a level of artistic excellence in their chosen discipline as recognized and acknowledged by other practitioners in that same discipline

Community Engagement – how the community and practitioner have previously and/or currently engage with each other – their ideas and their work – as demonstrated by any or all of the following: gained local media attention, favourable peer review, quoted in other sources and/or by other practitioners cultural event attendance, created learning opportunities, like workshops and lectures

Leadership – practitioner is recognized in the community as a leader in their discipline and/or nomination category

Extended Reach – how the artistic practitioner is putting the Central Okanagan on the map regionally, nationally and internationally.

The winners were feted in style May 28 at the Habitat in Kelowna with performances by Wildson, The Trips, Lucy Hazelwood, Anna Jacyszyn, Loni Moger, Stephen Buck, father and son duo Graham and Aaron Ord, Leah West, Kelly Derrickson and DJ Wolfhous, as well as a live painting/performance by MC and host Peter Breeze and visual artist Alex Ross.

Neil Facey and Barbra Barrett directed the award showcase and Glen Samuels of Mountain Lake films created all the videos of the winners.

For more information on the winners of the 9th Annual Okanagan Arts Awards, please visit


Just Posted

UPDATE: Okanagan air quality index poor due to smoke

Index for entire Okanagan Valley rated at 10+, or very high risk, because of wildfire smoke

Child dies in boating incident on Kal Lake

A North Vancouver family was boating on Kal Lake when the incident occured

Kelowna city councillor ‘ready’ to run, but not ready to say for what office

Tracy Gray has a city-focused webpage up seeking support but hasn’t ruled out Tory nomination bid

The Bank of Montreal’s Kelowna branches add Pride flag to lobbies

The bank is taking a step for solidarity, one colour at a time

Google Street updating Kelowna pictures

Specially equipped vehicle, with 360-degree camera mounted on the roof, seen downtown

A look at B.C. wildfire smoke from space

NASA provides a timelapse of smoke covering B.C. from space

B.C. Wildfires 2018: Province calls for federal aid

More fires have burned in B.C. already this year than did in all of 2017

Kayak in Indian Arm waters off B.C.’s Deep Cove and feast on famous doughnuts

About a half hour drive from Vancouver, Deep Cove is a great kayaking spot for locals and tourists

Child, 4, attacked by cougar near Fernie

The BC Conservation Officer Service said it happened while the family was fishing

Penticton RCMP trying to locate a missing man

Sheridan Graham was last seen Aug. 11.

Trans Mountain pipeline protesters practise resisting police at Camp Cloud

Last week, a Supreme Court judge granted the City of Burnaby an injunction ordering protesters to remove everything from the site

Gun used in Fredericton killings is legal, man had licence

Police Chief Leanne Fitch said the long gun is commonly available for purchase, and is not a prohibited or restricted weapon

Ontario will sell pot online when legalization comes in the fall

There are further plans to have pot in private retail stores in early 2019

Woman missing after car swept away by mudslide near Cache Creek

A search is now underway for Valerie Morris, who has been missing since the afternoon of August 11.

Most Read