Candidate nomination deadline nears

Civic candidates have until 4 p.m. on Friday to throw their name in the election ring.

With the deadline of 4 p.m. today for candidates to turn in their nomination papers for a  seat on a municipal council, regional district board or board of education in B.C., it appears Kelowna may break the record it set three years ago for the number of names appearing on the municipal election on the ballot.

In 2008, 36 people ran for the eight available councillor seats.

As of yesterday afternoon, 32 sets of nomination papers had been filled at city hall, and traditionally there is a last minute rush of candidates who show up to file papers at the last possible moment.

Included in the names of the candidates who had filed as of yesterday at 3 p.m. were seven of the eight incumbent councilors. Only Coun. Andre Blanleil, who has said publicly he intends to run, was not listed as having filed his nomination papers as of yesterday afternoon.

Prior to the nomination period, which started Oct. 4, 56 sets of papers were picked up by people considering a run for a seat on Kelowna council.

In the mayor’s race, incumbent Sharon Shepherd, who is seeking a third term and will officially kick off her campaign this evening, was joined by challengers Cal Condy and Kim Ouellette on the list posted on the city’s website.

Former mayor Walter Gray, who is expected to be Shepherd’s biggest challenger and who kicked off his campaign late yesterday afternoon, planned to file his nomination papers yesterday.

Candidates running for one of board of education trustee spots also face a 4 p.m. deadline today.

In Kelowna, where four seats on the board are up for grabs, as of yesterday afternoon  six candidates had filed papers, including incumbent board chairman Rollie Cacchioni and former school district superintendent and former board chairman Murli Pendharkar.

In West Kelowna, former mayor Rosalind Neis, currently a councillor, has said she plans to challenge incumbent Mayor Doug FIndlater.

But as of Thursday she was not listed as having filed nomination papers.

Only Findlater’s name appeared on the mayor’s race list.

Here is a full list of the candidates who had filed nomination papers as of 3 p.m. Thursday, according to three of the four local municipalities.

For a complete final list, see the Capital News website, www. today.

Kelowna mayor:

Cal Condy

Kim Ouellette

Sharon Shepherd



Kelowna councillor:

Colin Basran

Tasha Batt

Doug Cass

Ken Chung

Kevin Craig

Maxine DeHart

Elizabeth Fehr

Michael Fraser

Gail Given

Will Gow

Mary-Ann Graham

Carol Gran

Shane Herrington

Robert Hobson

Charlie Hodge

Graeme James

Tisha Kalmanovitch

Bobby Kennedy

Rob Mabey

Peter McFadden

Andrew Powell

JC Rathwell

Ron Ready

Angela Reid-Nagy

Scott Ross

Michele Rule

Simon Shaw

Mohini Singh

Luke Stack

Daniel Thorburn

Dayleen VanRyswyk

Gerry Zimmermann



Central Okanagan School District—trustee


Rolli Cacchioni

Larry Gray

Darren Haddrell

Richard Knight





Murli Pendharkar

West Kelowna mayor:

Doug Findlater


West Kelowna



Rick De Jong

Gordon Ficke

David Knowles

Gord Milsom

Duane Ophus

Randall Robinson

Carol Zanon



Cent  Okanagan School District—trustee

(West Kelowna):

Jerry Holowchak

Tina Pomponio

Daniel Summers,



Peachland mayor:

Fielding, Keith



Peachland councillor:

Charlette Broadoway

Terry Condon

Grant Eisworth

Cindy Fortin

Eric Hall

Eldon Kerbes

Vern Moberg,

Peter Schierbeck



Central Okanagan School District—trustee


Moyra Baxter

Lake Country does not release names of candidates until after  the nomination period closes and no names were listed on the Central Okanagan Regional District website yesterday.


Kelowna Capital News