Civic election candidates set

New record number of 41 candidates will seek one of eight seats on Kelowna city council.

Kelowna voters will be faced with a record number of names on the ballot when they go the polls in the civic election Nov. 19..

When the nomination period closed on Friday,  41 candidates had filed nomination papers to run for the eight available councillor seats in the city and another seven, including incumbent Sharon Shepherd, had filed papers to run for mayor.

The 41 candidates for councillor eclipses the previous record of 36 set three years ago.

Shepherd will be challenged by former mayor Walter Gray, two-time  mayoral candidate Kim Ouellette, Cal Condy, Charles Hardy, Diana Van Beest and Ken Chung. Chung, who originally filed nomination papers for a councillor seat, withdrew them and refiled for mayor prior to the nomination deadline.

In the councillor race, the eight incumbents will be challenged by a large field, including some well-known local names.

Former fire Kelowna chief Gerry Zimmermann is seeking a seat, as are former CHBC reporters Mohini Singh and Colin Basran, Capital News business columnist Maxine DeHart is in the running, as is former councillor and provincial cabinet minister Carol Gran.  Two former Central Okanagan Board of Education  trustees, Gail Given, widow the late city councillor Brian Given, and Gail Scanlan are also seeking councillor seats. And the man who coordinated the local collection of thousands of signatures for the petition that forced the vote that scrapped the HST, Daniel Thorburn, wants a seat on council too.

In other civic races in the Central Okanagan, incumbent West Kelowna mayor Doug Findlater will square off with the woman who preceded him in the mayor’s chair, Rosalind Neis. Neis sat as a West Kelowna councillor for the last three years.

In the West Kelowna council race, 13 candidates, including five of the six incumbents are running.

In Lake Country,  incumbent mayor James Baker is being challenged by incumbent Oyama Councillor Noreen Guenther, as well as Jason McCarthy and Bill Clarke. In the four Lake Country wards there will be races as multiple candidates are vying for election as the Oyama, Carr’s Landing, Winfield and Okanagan Centre representatives on council.

In Peachland, Mayor Keith Fielding is being challenged by Lee Sawchuck and 11 canadidates are vying for the six councillor postions.

A familiar name from the past has re-emerged to challenge for the Central Okanagan West regional director’s position. Former Westside CORD director Aaron Dinwoodie is challenging incumbent Jim Edgson, while on the other side of the lake, the Central Okangan East  director’s seat will be a race between another former CORD regional director, Parry Hansen, and John Collison. Incumbent area director Kelly Hayes is not seeking re-election.

In the school district trustee races, Deb Butler appears to be the only local candidate who will be acclaimed in this election, as she is running unchallenged for the Lake Country trustee position.

Following a change to the boundaries for trustees on the Westside, incumbent Moyra Baxter will be challenged by three others for the Peachland/Westside seat and four newcomers will attempt to succeed Jeff Watson, who is not running, in West Kelowna trustee race.

In Kelowna 14 candidates are running for the four city seats on the local board of education.

Here is a full list of all the civic candidates in the Central Okanagan:




Kelowna mayor (1 to be elected):

Ken Chung

Cal Condy

Walter Gray

Charles Hardy

Kim Ouellette

Sharon Shepherd

Diana Van Beest




Kelowna councillor (8 to be elected)

Colin Basran

Tasha Batt

André Blanleil

David Boyko

Doug Cass

Kevin Craig

Maxine DeHart

Elizabeth Fehr

Darrin Fiddler

Michael Fraser

Gail Given

Will Gow

Mary-Ann Graham

Carol Gran

Shane Herrington

Robert Hobson

Charlie Hodge

Erik Jack

Graeme James

Tisha Kalmanovitch

Bobby Kennedy

William Kovacic

Rob Mabey

James Murphy

Peter McFadden

Andrew Powell

JC Rathwell

Ron Ready

Angela Reid-Nagy

Scott Ross

Michele Rule

Gail Scanlan

Simon Shaw

Mohini Singh

Luke Stack

Mark Thompson

Daniel Thorburn

Dayleen VanRyswyk

Andrew Ulitvlugt

John Zeger

Gerry Zimmermann



West Kelowna mayor (1 to be elected):

Doug Findlater

Rosalind Neis


West Kelowna councillor (6 to be elected):

Gux Albrecht

Rick de Jong

Rusty Ensign

Gordon Ficke

David Knowles

Gord Milsom

Duane Ophus

Randall Robinson

Cathy Sinclair

Mike Smith

Mike Trenn

Bryden Winsby

Carol Zanon



Lake Country mayor (1 to be elected):

James Baker

Bill Clarke

Noreen Guenther

Jason McCarthy


Lake Country councillor (at large) (2 to be elected):

Nicholas Aubin

Penny Gambell

Jamie McEwan

Peter Withers




Lake Country councillor (Winfield) (1 to be elected):

Bill Scarrow

Rob Geier




Lake Country councillor (Okanagan Centre) (1 to be elected):

Jeremy Blaskovits

Lisa Cameron

Alice Rees




Lake Country councillor (Carr’s Landing) (1 to be elected):

Barbara Leamont

Linda Sjoman

Matt Vader




Lake Country councillor (Oyama) (1 to be elected):

Owen Dickie

Rob Nairne



Peachland mayor (1 to be elected):

Keith Fielding

Lee Sawchuk


Peachland councillor (6 to be elected):

Lindsay Bell

Charlette Broadoway

Terry Condon

Grant Eisworth

Cindy Fortin

Eric Hall

Ernie Hurd

Eldon Kerbes

Vern Moberg

Peter Schierbeck

Ken Whitelegg




Central Okanagan Board Of Education




Central Okanagan Board of Education trustee (Kelowna) (4 to be elected):

Christopher Becenko

Joyce Brinkerhoff

Rolli Cacchioni

Torrie Fonda

Chris Gorman

Larry Gray

Darren Haddrell

Val Hristovski

Jeff Klassen

Richard Knight

Gregory Krasichynsky

Murli Pendharkar

Mark Thompson

Reg Volk


Central Okanagan Board Of Education trustee (Zone 1) (1 to be elected):

Deb Butler


Central Okanagan Board Of Education trustee (Zone 2) (1 to be elected):

Moyra Baxter

Lindsay Bell

Karin Cruickshank

Marsha Johnston



Central Okanagan Board of Education trustee (West Kelowna) (1 to be elected):

Julia Fraser

Jerry Holowchak

Tina Pomponio

Dan Summers



Central Okanagan Regional District director – Central Okanagan West (1 to be elected):

Aaron Dinwoodie

Jim Edgson

Dave Robertson


Central Okanagan Regional District director – Central Okanagan East (1 to be elected):

John Collinson

Patty Hanson


Kelowna Capital News