Clark names new B.C. cabinet

Thomson in, Stewart out of new cabinet.

Liberal leader Christy Clark was sworn in as the province’s 35th premier Monday in Victoria and unveiled a 17-member cabinet that includes some new faces, some familiar.

Of the two local MLAs who were in the last cabinet, only Kelowna-Mission MLA Steve Thomson remains, keeping resource operations and adding forests and lands in a new expanded ministry.

But dropped from cabinet was Westside-Kelowna MLA Ben Stewart, who was the province’s agriculture minister. That job went to cabinet newcomer Don McRae. Stewart will be the new government whip.

Other noticable absentees were former finance minister, Colin Hansen, widely seen as the architect of the controversial Harmonized Sales Tax.

Clark has said she plans to move the referendum on the HST forward to June 24.

The new B.C. cabinet is smaller than its predecessor, with 17 positions, plus Clark, as opposed to former premier Gordon Campbell’s last cabinet which had 23 minister in it.

The new cabinet includes:

Finance and deputy premier – Kevin Falcon

Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation – Mary Polak

Advanced Education – Naomi Yamamoto

Agriculture – Don McRae

Attorney-General – Barry Penner

Children and Family Development – Mary McNeil

Community, Sport and Cultural Development – Ida Chong

Education – George Abbott

Energy and Mines (and responsible for housing) – Rich Coleman

Environment – Terry Lake

Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations – Steve Thomson

Health – Mike de Jong

Jobs, Tourism and Innovation – Pat Bell

Labour, Citizens’ Services and Open Government – Stephanie Cadieux

Public Safety and Solicitor-General – Shirley Bond

Social Development – Harry Bloy

Transportation and Infrastructure – Blair Lekstrom


Just Posted

Documentary series features local wineries and restaurants

Quest Out West Wild Food launches Jan. 18

West Kelowna looking at three per cent tax increase

Council grapples with 2018 budget, rejects addition of more cops, firefighters

Tech funding announced for Kelowna post-secondary institutions

UBCO and Okanagan College are getting funding to expand their tech programs

Arbitrated settlement for Kelowna jail guards

Details of arbitration settlement in contract dispute not released

Kelowna art exhibition showcases connection to environment

The opening of Blue Renew – art:debris is Jan. 18

The snow capped hills around Carr’s Landing

Andre Paris has posted another drone video showcasing Lake Country’s beauty

Body discovered in burnt out car near Trail

Police report a body was found in the burnt out trunk of a 1999 Honda Civic

UPDATE: Highway reopened following fatal crash south of Armstrong

Highway 97A crash south of Pleasant Valley cross road near Spallumcheen claims a life

VIDEO: B.C. Lions sign defensive back T.J. Lee to contract for upcoming season

The four-year veteran had a team-high four interceptions and 49 tackles last season with B.C.

How an immigrant to Canada helped Donald Trump prove his mental health

Test that cleared Trump was developed by doctor associated with McGill and Sherbrooke universities

Premier touches on multiple topics ahead of Asia trade trip

Housing and childcare are expected to be the focus of the BC NDP’s first budget in February.

UPDATE: Friends mourn boy, 15, killed in Vancouver shooting

John Horgan: ‘No stone is to be left unturned until we find the perpetrator of this heinous crime’

VIDEO: Explorers uncover Canada’s deepest cave in Fernie

The cave, named Bisaro Anima, was confirmed to have broken the record on New Year’s Day

Canadian junior captain returns to Rockets lineup

Dillon Dube will be back in Kelowna’s lineup Wednesday night after world juniors and bout of flu

Most Read