ELECTION 2014: List of candidates running in Central Okanagan civic elections

District of Peachland: Three vying for mayor of Kelowna, three in West Kelowna, five in Peachland, two in Lake Country.

  • Oct. 17, 2014 5:00 p.m.

The nomination period for the upcoming civic elections has closed. Here are the candidates who filed nomination papers in the Central Okanagan.

General voting day is Saturday, Nov.15, with advance polls set for Nov. 5, 12, 13 and 14. Mail-in ballots are also available, by request by Oct. 24 deadline, from kelowna.ca/election or visit the Kelowna City Hall clerk’s office.


Kelowna – mayor:

Colin Basran

Sam Condy

Chuck Hardy

James Murphy

Kelly Row

Sharon Shepherd

Glendon Smedley

Mark Thompson




Kelowna – councillor (eight positions):

Billie Aaltonen – TaxPayersFirst

Ken Chung

Cal Condy

Maxine DeHart (i)

Ryan Donn

Ken Finney

GailGiven (i)

Michael Gorman – TaxPayersFirst

Carol Gran – TaxPayersFirst

Tracy Gray

Charlie Hodge

Beryl Itani

Graeme James  – TaxPayersFirst

Rawle James

Krista Jessacher

Leslie Kendall

Bobby Kennedy

Mike McLoughlin – ProsperKelowna

Gwen Miles

Alan Monk

David Mossman

Dale Olson – TaxPayersFirst

Connor P.S. Reilly

Mo Rajabally

Brad Sieben

Mohini Singh (i)

Derek (Red) Somer

Luke Stack (i)

Laura Thurnheer

Sean Upshaw – ProsperKelowna

Dayleen Van Ryswyk




Kelowna school trustee (four positions):

Scott Aaltonen

Nicholas Aubin

Joyce Brinkerhoff (i)

Rolli Cacchioni (i)

Sharlene  Drohomereski

Chris Gorman (i)

Lee Mossman

Peter Pagliocchini

Murli Pendharkar (i)

Lee-Ann Tiede




(For information about each candidate go to the City of Kelowna home page (www.kelowna.ca) and click on the 2014 Election tab.)




West Kelowna

West Kelowna – mayor:

Doug FIndlater (i)

Stephen Johnston

Mary Mandarino




West Kelowna – councillor  (six positions):

Joanne Baker

Jon Peter Christof

Jerome Chung

Rick de Jong (i)

Rusty Ensign

David Knowles (i)

Tanya Lister

Rosalind Neis

Duane Ophus (i)

Gary Stabb

Mike Trenn

Bryden Winsby (i)

Carol Zanon (i)




West Kelowna school trustee (one position):

Julia Fraser (i)

Tina Pomponio




(For information about each candidate go to the District of West Kelowna home page (www.districtofwestkelowna.ca) and click on the Declaration of Candidates listing.)





Peachland  – mayor:

Cindy Fortin

Ernie Hurd

Bruce Letendre

Keith Fielding (i)

Eric Hall




Peachland – councillor:

Vern Moberg (i)

Pam Cunningham

Terry Condon (i)

Keith Thom

Mario Vucinovic

Mike Kent

Allan Holender

Eldon Kerbes (i)

Peter Schierbeck (i)




Peachland school trustee (one position):

Moyra Baxter (i) – acclamation




(For information about each candidate go to the District of Peachland home page (www.peachland.ca) and click on the 2014 Municipal Elections button.)




Lake Country

Lake Country mayor:

James Baker (i)

Jayson McCarthy




Lake Country councillors at Large (two positions):

Penny Gambell (i)

Arlene Brenner

Richard Issler

Don Rae

Bill Scarrow




Ward councillors:

Winfield (one position):

Rob Geier (i)

Randy Rose




Oyama (one position):

Owen Dickie (i)

Keli Westgate




Okanagan Centre (one position):

Lisa Cameron (i)

Blair Ireland




Carr’s Landing (one position):

Matt Vader – acclamation




Lake Country school trustee

Deb Butler – acclamation




Central Okanagan Regional District

Okanagan West director:

Wayne Carson

Marshall McIver

Eric Von Krosigk




Okanagan East director:

Patty Hanson (i) – acclamation


Just Posted

Interior Health managers voice discontent

Negative comments about work culture aimed at CEO Chris Mazurkewich.

Students frustrated by UBCO response to harassment allegations

Kelowna - Students were unaware of resources on campus

Video: Bulky bobcat goes for a stroll

Bob Lindley shared a video of a sneaky bobcat strolling through his yard in Vernon.

Cops report explosion in number of thefts from vehicles in Central Okanagan

In just the first 2 1/2 weeks of 2018, the number has nearly tripled in Kelowna and West Kelowna

Kelowna and West Kelowna’s unsolved crimes of the week

RCMP are searching for a fraud suspect and vandal suspect in this week’s unsolved crimes

Kelowna’s Ursel to coach host team at Olympics

Bob Ursel is headed to the Olympics with South Korea’s national men’s curling team

WestJet appeals lost bid to scrap harassment lawsuit

Airline argues judge was wrong to have dismissed the company’s application to strike the legal action

Can U.S. border guards search your phone? Yes, and here’s how

Secretary of homeland security explains a new policy that let’s border guards check phones

‘Beautiful writer’ Nancy Richler dies of cancer in Vancouver hospital

Montreal-born author spent most of her adult life in B.C. as a fiction writer and novelist

B.C. commuters vote to rename bus service to ‘Jeff’

The company asked and the people of Facebook answered

EDITORIAL: With harassment allegations, students deserve better at UBCO

The lack of communication with students isn’t good enough for the Kelowna campus

Physical altercation turns to online threats in Celista

Police were called to a Shuswap ice rink after a group of men physically fought each other

Arson suspect heads to court

Vernon man suspected of starting a string of 2014 fires in Vernon

Opinion: Dare to be smarter

Just say no works for more than just substance abuse

Most Read