Members of the B.C. Fruit Growers Association vote for a new leader at Saturday's convention.

Good turnout of growers elect new leaders

Nearly half the valley's tree fruit growers turned out to elect a new executive at Saturday's annual convention.

Although attendance was sparse for the first couple of hours of this year’s 124th annual convention of the B.C. Fruit Growers’ Association in Penticton Saturday, by the deadline to register to vote, the room was overflowing.

General manager Glen Lucas estimates nearly half of the 530 members of the BCFGA turned out to vote, after a year that was marred by the rocky relationship between the grower lobby group’s president, Kirpal Boparai of Kelowna, and the valley’s main co-operative packinghouse.

He finally resigned in December, and was not in attendance to discuss the past year’s difficulties with members.

However, his vice-president, Jeet Dhukia of Vernon was elected president over a former vice-president of the association, Fred Steele of Kelowna. The BCFGA does not release the ballot count before destroying the ballots.

A former president of the BCFGA, Joe Sardinha of Summerland, had been nominated to run for vice-president, but he withdrew his name when Dhukia was elected, and it proved to be a difficult task to find anyone at the convention willing to take on the post.

Finally, Summerland director Denise MacDonald agreed to let her name stand, and members nominated Bupinder Dhaliwal of Oliver as well.

Dhaliwal, who is a substitute teacher as well as working on his family’s orchard, was elected. He has never served on the executive before.

MacDonald was acclaimed to continue to represent the Okanagan-Skaha region, while Nirmal Dhaliwal of Oliver was acclaimed to continue representing the South Okanagan-Similkameen region.

Incumbents Jora Dhaliwal, representing the Central region and Madeleine van Roechoudt representing the North region were also acclaimed.

Peter Simonsen of Naramata was acclaimed to continue to repesent the southern district on the executive, while incumbent Amarjit Lalli of Kelowna was elected over Asif Mohammed of Vernon for the northern district.



Just Posted

Ice fishing returns to Lake Country

The annual Learn to Ice Fish event takes place at Beaver Lake

Kelowna’s mayor still seeking a cut of pot revenues

News the provinces will get 75 per cent of revenues doesn’t address municipal share says Colin Basran

Visit with Santa amidst the Big White snow

Snow lovers can head up to Big White this month to visit with Santa

Kelowna-developed app brings static images to life

Maxogram links static images to video for a whole new take on marketing and information

Me Too At Work: Sexual assault and harassment in the B.C. workplace

Introducing an in-depth look at who is affected and what can be done

Bomb detonated in Kamloops neighbourhood

Kamloops RCMP are investigating after an improvised explosive device was detonated Wednesday morning

No More Shootouts: Strong defence will be Canada’s backbone at world juniors

Head coach doesn’t want a situation where a hot goalie or a lucky bounce can determine a team’s fate

Big White fire department given seasons passes

Members of the Work Experience Program were given passes by the resort

‘Assemble your own meal’ kits grow into $120M industry in Canada

Kits offer a middle ground between eating out and grocery shopping

Millennials closing in as B.C.’s biggest wine drinkers

Generation X leads the way in current consumption of B.C. wine, as more wine drinkers are enjoying local varietals

Canadians lag behind Americans in giving to charity

Only one-in-five Canadians donated to charities in 2017

B.C. children adoption rates lagging, despite increased funding: watchdog

More than 1,000 children are still waiting to be adopted, new report shows

Hurdles ahead for Sicamous off-road vehicle bylaw

RCMP, ICBC and province not yet on-board with district

Most Read