Kelowna announces civic awards finalists

Winners will be revealed at gala awards banquet at Kelowna Community Theatre on May 1.

  • Mar. 12, 2013 10:00 a.m.

The finalists have been announced for the 38th annaul City of Kelowna Civic and Community Awards.

The awards recognize the achievements of volunteers, artists, athletes and business leaders for 17 awards in 12 different categories.

We are pleased with the exceptional nominations received in each of our award categories this year,” said Jim Gabriel, director of recreation and cultural services for the city.

“Kelowna is a great place to live not only because of our surroundings but more so because of the people who live and work in this community. The awards capture how inspired we are as a community and highlight our residents, businesses and organizations that have made a significant difference by enhancing the lives of others and making our city a better place to live.”

New for the 2012 awards is the addition of the Champion for the Environment category, which will be awarded to an individual (youth or adult) and a Kelowna business whose actions and achievements have shown outstanding environmental leadership or innovative environmental contributions.

The 2012 award finalists are:

Fred Macklin – Man of the Year

Paul Demay

Roy Gillespie

Ken Thompson

Sarah Donalda-Treadgold – Women of the Year

Shaun Bos

Heather Karabelas

Laura Thurnheer

Young Male of the Year

James Casorso

Eli McAlpine

Raphael Nowak

Young Female of the Year

Mary Bunka

Brianne Moore

Kelsi Taron

Central Okanagan Foundation – Volunteer Organization of the Year

Karis Support Society

Kelowna Christian School

Kelowna Community Foodbank

Corporate Community of the Year Award

Small /Medium Business


Illuminate Skin Care and Esthetics

Loyal Hair Therapy

Large Business

Interior Savings Credit Union

Rona Home and Garden

Valley First Credit Union

Honour in the Arts

Shaun Bos

Anna Jacyszyn

David LaHay

Teen Honour in the Arts

Quinn Bates

Benn Klick

Konar Sanderson

Female Augie Ciancone Memorial

Olivia Johnson

Jenna Rever

Cayte Wilson

Male Augie Ciancone Memorial

Ryan Lintell

Scott Marshall

Rostam Turner

Bryan Couling Memorial

Okanagan Athletics, Senior Baseball Team

OKM, Senior Boys Soccer Team

UBCO Heat, Women’s Golf Team

Bob Giordano Memorial

Marilyn Hedman

Hal Hennenfent

Julie Neville

Male Athlete of the year Paul Duffield

Aaron Stroda

Rostam Turner Female Athlete of the Year

Madison Arnold

Chandler Proch

Jen Woods

Champion for the Environment


Christian Brandt

Michael Ross


Best Western Plus

Holiday Park Resort

Kelowna Toyota

The award winners will be unveiled at an awards gala ceremony at Kelowna Community Theatre on May 1.

Tickets will be available March 11 at a cost of $25/person. To purchase tickets, please contact the Cultural Services office at 250-469-8811.

For more information, visit


Kelowna Capital News

Be Among The First To Know

Sign up for a free account today, and receive top headlines in your inbox Monday to Saturday.

Sign Up with google Sign Up with facebook

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Reset your password

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

A link has been emailed to you - check your inbox.

Don't have an account? Click here to sign up
Pop-up banner image