The RDCO board is getting an additional Kelowna director.—Image: Google Maps

Kelowna getting another director to regional board

Thanks to its growing population, the city will have seven directors on the 13-member RDCO board

Kelowna is getting more say on the Central Okanagan Regional Board.

Board chairwoman Gail Given has received a letter from the Ministry of Municipal Affairs informing her that as a result of population growth in the city—as reflected by the 2016 census—Kelowna will add an additional director to the regional board, bringing its total to seven.

In addition, its strength in weighted votes by the board will be increased by three votes.

While they will not get any more directors at this time, both West Kelowna and Lake Country will also see their weighted voting strength increased. Each municipality will get one more weighted vote.

Currently, the 12-member RDCO board is made up of six Kelowna directors, two from West Kelowna and one each from Peachland, Lake Country and the two unincorporated electoral areas of Okanagan East and West. The WFN council appoints a non-voting representative to the board.

In addition to Given, who is also a Kelowna city councillor, Kelowna is represented on the regional board by Mayor Colin Basran and Councillors Luke Stack, Brad Sieben, Tracy Gray and Maxine DeHart.

The changes to the RDCO board will take effect at its next meeting, scheduled for Nov. 9.

The identity of the new Kelowna regional director was not immediately revealed but it will be one of Coun. Ryan Donn, Charlie Hodge or Mohini Singh. Donn has been serving as an alternate on the regional board.

Just Posted

UBCO Heat teams unable to secure any wins against Mount Royal Cougars

The mens and womens volleyball and basketball teams went 0-4, but all have rematches Saturday night

Rockets held scoreless in loss against Red Deer

Rockets will look for some points in final game of road trip against Edmonton

Kelowna’s definitive Christmas market list

We’ve prepared a list of every market in the Central Okanagan

Your guide to winter light ups around the Okanagan

From Vernon to Summerland, with a stop in Kelowna, we’ve found some activities for you to enjoy

New maintenance crew to look after Okanagan Connector

Acciona Infrastructure Maintenance Inc. will replace Argo Road Maintenance Inc. in 2019

Trudeau offers to help Pacific islands face climate change impact

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau met with the leaders from the Pacific island nations on Saturday during the APEC Summit in Papua New Guinea

BC Minister of Agriculture loses stepson to accidental overdose

Lana Popham announces death of her 23-year-old stepson, Dan Sealey

Canadian military’s template for perfect recruits outdated: Vance

Gen. Jonathan Vance, the chief of defence staff says that the military has to change because the very nature of warfare is changing, particularly when it comes to cyber-warfare

‘Toxic’ chosen as the Word of the Year by Oxford Dictionaries

Other top contenders for 2018 include ‘gaslighting’ and ‘techlash’

RCMP bust illegal B.C. cannabis lab

Marijuana may be legal but altering it using chemicals violates the Cannabis Act

Canada defeats Germany 29-10 in repechage, moves step closer to Rugby World Cup

Hong Kong needs a bonus-point win over Canada — scoring four or more tries — while denying the Canadians a bonus point

Avalanche Canada in desperate need of funding

The organization provides avalanche forecasting for an area larger than the United Kingdom

5 B.C. cities break temperature records

Parts of B.C. remain warm, at 10 C, while others feeling chilly

Hodge: The long road to recovery

Kelowna - The first week of recovery I was too consumed in pain to notice the lack of fluid.

Most Read