Kelowna: Gray returns to city hall as mayor

Incumbent mayor Sharon Shepherd loses out to former mayor in a close race while five city council incumbents fail to win re-election.

Kelowna has a new mayor as challenger Walter Gray won a close race against incumbent Sharon Shepherd.

With all 13 polling station voting results in, Gray finished with 13,995 votes, beating out Shepherd with 13, 575 votes.

Shepherd led through most of the evening as the electionr results starting coming in, but Gray pulled ahead as the votes for the final three polling stations were counted.

The win gave some redemption to Gray, who was defeated buy Shepherd in the 2005 mayoral election, but shows the city voters were closely divided on the two. Gray collected 47.14 per cent of the vote, Shepherd 45.72.

As for the other three mayoral challengers, Cal Condy had 1,000 votes, Ken Chung, 749 and Kim Ouellette, 370.

In the city council election results, Gerry Zimmermann topped the polls with 14,843 votes. Joining Zimmermann on the new council will be Colin Basran, with 10,348 votes, Gail Given, 10,172, Robert Hobson, 9711, Andre Blanleil, 9,328, Maxine DeHart, 8124, Mohini Singh, 7986, Luke Stack, 7,986.

Rounding out the top 10 in votes were Carol Gran,  6668, Graeme James, 6655, and Kevin Craig, 6070.

Incumbents Charlie Hodge and Angela Reid-Nagy finished with 5211 and 4704 votes respectively.

The vote means incumbents James, Craig, Hodge, Reid-Nagy and Michele Rule failed to win re-election, the largest turnover ever of incumbents in a Kelowna council election.

For the four Kelowna school board seats, elected were Rollie Cacchioni, 8528 votes, Chris Gorman, 6327, Joyce Brinkerhoff, 5153, Murli Pendharkar, 5017.