No change for OC board

Summerland resident Connie Denesiuk voted unanimously to serve another one-year term as chair of Okanagan College board of governors.

Connie Denesiuk

Connie Denesiuk will serve another one-year term as chair of the Okanagan College Board of Governors.

Denesiuk along with incumbent vice-chair Christopher Derickson were both re-elected unanimously by the board of governors for one-year terms.

Denesiuk joined the college board in 2012 after serving a three-year term as president of the B.C. School Trustees Association along with a 19-year stint as an Okanagan Skaha School Board of Education trustee, nine of which she served as the board chair.

Denesiuk said she enjoyed her first year as OC board chair.

“I’m proud to be here and proud of the team we have,” said Denesiuk, a resident of Summerland who runs a construction business with her husband.

“I have felt it’s really important to engage our entire board in the conversation, that each of our board members are heard from on issues we face in order to make the best decisions for the college.”

She said the environment around the OC college campuses across the Okanagan region is positive overall, reflected in rising student enrolment and ongoing partnerships with the construction, tech and business communities to ensure graduating students have the right skills training to fit employer’s workforce needs.

“Things can change in a blink of an eye so as an institution, we need to be responsive to change. We have an efficient and effective team and a nimbleness to respond to the challenges we face due to change.”

Derickson is a member of the Westbank First Nation who works as a business consultant for First Nations communities.


Kelowna Capital News

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

BC NDP names two more Kelowna candidates

Justin Kulik will run in Kelowna-Lake Country and Krystal Smith will run in Kelowna-Mission for the BC NDP

Fender bender slows northbound traffic on Highway 97 in Kelowna

The three-vehicle collision happened around 4:45 on Wednesday afternoon

Guns seized in relation to southeast Kelowna murder investigation

RCMP seized several firearms from a West Kelowna home on Tuesday

Two new COVID-19 cases announced in Interior Health region

The total number of cases in the region is at 533

Kelowna women’s outreach group expands to support men amid ‘stressful and uncertain times’

HOPE Outreach says they’re expanding services in reaction to ‘stressful and uncertain times’

B.C. counts 125 new COVID-19 cases, up to 1,284 active

No new deaths or health care facility outbreaks

Documentary to celebrate the Shuswap’s music scene

Local initiative to feature several of the region’s artists

Health Canada green-lights rapid COVID-19 test

Health Canada approved the BCube test from Hyris Ltd. in the United Kingdom Sept. 23

Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

FINLAYSON: COVID-related job losses concentrated in urban areas… especially Metro Vancouver

The biggest job losses, in absolute terms, have been in Metro Vancouver

Action demanded over death of First Nations youth in Abbotsford group home

Family and Indigenous organizations push for thorough investigation

Okanagan man accused of attacking two young boys back in court

Brian Lamb will remain behind bars until at least Oct. 14

U.S. boater fined $1,000 for violation of Quarantine Act

49-year-old man entered Canada to visit girlfriend in Surrey

Most Read