No vaccinations needed for voting in Vernon byelection

Red Deer will not have dedicated neighbourhood voting stations on election day, and voting is open 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. at eight voting stations. (Photo by BYRON HACKETT/Advocate Staff)
Jamie MorrowJamie Morrow
Stephanie HendyStephanie Hendy
Catherine LordCatherine Lord
Ed StranksEd Stranks
Flora EvansFlora Evans
Sherrilee FranksSherrilee Franks
Kevin DemersKevin Demers
Teresa DurningTeresa Durning
Art GourleyArt Gourley
Andy WylieAndy Wylie
Erik OlesenErik Olesen

Vernon voters have a big decision to make, and six chances to have their say.

A municipal by-election takes place Saturday, Dec. 4 for the vacant city councillor position created by the death of Dalvir Nahal.

There are 11 candidates vying for the position: Kevin Demers, Teresa Durning, Flora Evans, Sherrilee Franks, Arthur Gourley, Stephanie Hendy, Catherine Lord, Jamie Morrow, Erik Olesen, Ed Stranks and Andy Wylie.

READ MORE: Environmental issues discussed at Vernon byelection all candidates forum

Along with general voting day, advance voting opportunities begin this week. Eligible voters may attend any of the advance polling places listed below, with two pieces of ID and masks.

“Proof of vaccination is not required to vote,” the city said.

Advance voting begins Wednesday, Nov. 24 at the Schubert Centre, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

There will also be four varying time opportunities at Vernon City Hall: Nov. 25 from 4-8 p.m., Nov. 27 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Dec. 1 and 2 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Voting takes place Dec. 4 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Priest Valley Gymnasium, Ellison Elementary School, Vernon Secondary School and Community Baptist Church.

For information on eligibility for voting, a list of acceptable identification to vote, a candidate list and more, visit

READ MORE: 11 candidates in the ring for Vernon council seat


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Municipal electionOkanaganvoting

Pop-up banner image