Okanagan Arts Awards finalists named

Overwhelming response to the call for submissions this year results in nominations nearly tripling over the number received in 2015.

The Arts Council of the Central Okanagan has announced the 36 finalists for the ninth annual Okanagan Arts Awards.

The awards will be handed out Saturday, May 28 at the Habitat in downtown Kelowna.

According to the ACCO executive director Katie Brennen, response to the call for submissions this year was so strong—totalling 110 this year compared to 41 in 2015—that, for the first time, finalists in each category have been named in advance.

Another change this year is the 13 arts discipline categories from years past have been narrowed to seven and five new categories added to recognize other, integural parts of the arts community. They include arts and business, business supporter, community impact, innovation, and emerging artist.

The 2016 Okanagan Arts Awards finalists are:

Visual Arts:  Connor Charlesworth, Jane Everett and Laurie Koss

Dance: Kinshira Performance Troupe,  Loretta Lachner and Janessa McGrath

Music: Alexandra Babbel & Opera Kelowna,  Andrew Judah and Adam Meachem

Literature: Ronald Derrickson, Lesley-Anne Evans and Michael V. Smith

Theatre: Kinshira Performance Troupe, Robert Mason-Brown and Randall Robinson

Time Based Media Benjamin Musgrave, Todd Ramsey and Nick Schafer

Applied Arts Art Felt Collaborative, Missy Mackintosh and Bri Stein

Emerging Artist Kelsie Balehowsky, Connor Charlesworth and Jolene Mackie

Innovation Cool Arts Society, Opera Kelowna and Shimson Obadia

Community Impact Lake Country Art Gallery, Okanagan Symphony Orchestra and Cool Arts Society

Art & Business Brazen Edwards, Carrie Mayhew and Bramble Lee Pryde

Business Supporter The Heritage Retirement Residence, Investors Group and Raymond James Ltd

A special lifetime achievement award will be presented to Sharon McCoubrey for her many years of support for the arts in the Okanagan.

In addition to celebrating the achievements of the Central Okanagan’s top talent in the arts, the awards night will also include performances by Wildson, Kelly Derrickson, Leah West, Anna Jackysyn, Loni Moger and Stephen Buck, Aaron and Graham Ord, Lucy Hazelwood and The Trips.  Hosted by actor and talent agent Peter Breeze, the awards show will be followed by after-party with DJ Wolfhous.

Off stage, the awards show will also feature a pop-up exhibition of work by the nominees and finalists and local there will be food trucks on-site.

Tickets the awards show evening cost $20 each and are available at artsco.ca. Admission is limited to those 19 years of age and older.  However, the pop-exhibition and food truck rally will run throughout the evening, will be free and open to the public of all ages.



Just Posted

Let it snow in Kelowna

Snow is in the forecast for this week

Photos: Adventuring in Stuart Park

Have you seen Friday’s edition of the Capital News? Check out the photos featured

Rutland students help less fortunate

At Rutland Senior Secondary, students are helping the homeless this holiday season

Lake Country seniors receive Christmas surprise

Hampers will be given to 20 lucky seniors in need next week

Column: Make it a green Christmas

Instead of purchasing a cuddly stuffie this year, put your money towards helping the real thing.

What’s happening

Find out about the events happening in your community this weekend

#MeToo at work: Employers play a role in fixing culture of harassment

B.C. workplaces are getting ahead of being the next MeToo debacle, calling on experts to train staff

B.C. woman brain injured in crash as a baby gets $1.1 million in damages

Trial heard the woman was 16 months old, being carried by her mother when they were both hit

Lind nets three in Rockets win; Dube and Foote named to Canada’s roster

Kole Lind returns from national junior camp to lead Rockets to victory in P.A.

Interior Health holding immunization clinic in Vernon Saturday

IH issues list of Okanagan meningococcal immunization clinics

Court denies WestJet’s bid to toss out discrimination lawsuit of former worker

Mandalena Lewis is suing WestJet over allegations of gender-based discrimination

VIDEO: 3 months later, rescued sea lion released back into ocean

The young animal was found in Campbell River three months ago

Annual Christmas meal held as Kelowna Gospel Mission

The meal will be held tomorrow from 12 to 6 p.m.

Most Read