Westbank chamber names its Key Business Award winners

West Kelowna businesses are recognized with awards.

In addition to Claire Sokoloski being named West Kelowna Citizen of the Year, the Westbank and District Chamber of Commerce also handed out awards recognizing the best in Westside business at its annual Key Business Awards.

New chamber CEO Karen Thompson, whose first task was to organize the event, said there was some thought at first of skipping the awards this year because with the change over from Leah Thordarson to her, there was not much time to gather nominees.

Instead of starting in September, as is the case normally, the search for nominees did not get under way until December. But Thompson credited the awards committee with a lot of hard work to pull off the event, including gala dinner at Lake Okanagan Resort.

“This year’s winners, and indeed all nominees and finalists, are defined by high standards, integrity and their pride in the Westside” said Thompson

This year’s award winner included:

Business Beautification (sponsored by Bylands Garden Centre): RCMP Building

Community Social Development (sponsored by CIBC): Bonfire Restaurant

New Business (sponsored by Hergott Law): Manchester Signs

Tourism Development (sponsored by Okanagan Business Excellence): The Cove Lakeside Resort

Aboriginal (sponsored by Westbank First Nation): Little Miss Chief Gourmet

Business Person Of The Year (sponsored by Re/Max Kelowna Westside): Dave Keeler

Home Based Business (sponsored by Maciel & Company): Leif Thordarson

Service (Under 15 Employees, sponsored by Central Okanagan Economic Development Commission): Good Guys Audio Visual Unlimited

Retail (under 15, sponsored by TD Canada Trust): Paynter’s Market

Young Entrepreneur (sponsored by Porrelli Law Corporation): Trevor Neyedli

Large Business (sponsored by Interior Savings Credit Union): TD Canada Trust

Arts & Cultural Improvement (sponsored by Mission Hill Family Estate Winery): Capitol Theatre


Kelowna Capital News