Wine festival board elected

A new board has been elected by the Okanagan Wine Festival Society, with Kelowna winemaker Eric von Krosigk as chairman.

Summerhill Pyramid Winery’s winemaker, Eric Von Krosigk has been re-elected chairman of the Okanagan Wine Festivals Society, along with four other directors.

Heather Schroeter of Manteo Waterfront Resort, Christa-Lee Bond of Local Hospitality Group, Eric Fisher of Andrew Peller Ltd. and Pam Luckhurst of Road 13 Vineyards were also re-elected to the board.

Bruce Hibbard of Hester Creek Winery was elected to a new two-year term, and Rhys Pender of Wine Plus+, Sally Sharpe of Vincor, Roger Wong of Gray Monk Winery, Blair Dufty of Red Rooster, Martin Lewis of Kettle Valley Pub and George Hanson of Seven Stones Winery are serving the second year of their two-year terms on the board.

The society holds four wine festivals, including the first and most popular Fall Okanagan Wine Festival, and three newer ones during each of the other seasons of the year. Upcoming is the 14th annual Winter Okanagan Wine Festival at Sun Peaks Resort near Kamloops.

Information is available online at

The board represents more than 100 wineries in the Okanagan and Similkameen Valleys and is responsible for promoting wine tourism through the four annual wine festivals and the two annual wine judging competitions.

Von Krosigk commented, “The progress of the four annual festivals as innovative experiences is remarkable.

“Every tourism sector in B.C. will be challenged in 2012 to work hard to retain customers and develop the market. We look forward to meeting the challenge and continuing to showcase our member wineries with continued creativity.”


Just Posted

Kelowna firefights camp out under the stars for youth recovery house

The firefighters will be on the top of the Yacht Club until tomorrow night

Sheryl Crow hits West Kelowna for Mission Hill Winery concert

Songstress seems struck by the natural beauty of the Okanagan

Okanagan Wildfires: The latest on wildfires and evacuations

A Saturday morning look at the major wildfires impact the Okanagan and Similkameen.

Okanagan wildfires have potential to become firestorms, says UBC expert

David Andison said to let smaller fires go, to create pockets in the landscape for new forests

Evacuation order downgraded near Mount Eneas wildfire

Fire chief Dennis Craig said wind was blowing the fire away from homes

Okanagan Wildfires: The latest on wildfires and evacuations

A Saturday morning look at the major wildfires impact the Okanagan and Similkameen.


A brief look at action from the 2018 BC Summer Games in the Cowichan Valley

Wildfire near Keremeos still burning at 255 hectares

The Placer Mountain wildfire is still active

2017 wildfires give B.C. mom chance to say thank you to officer who saved her son

An unlikely encounter in the rural community of Likely, near Williams Lake

UPDATED: Kinder Morgan pipeline protesters defy eviction order

Demonstrators at Camp Cloud in Burnaby say they won’t leave, but will meet with city officials

B.C. tent city camper arrested for taking coins from fountain

The man, who built a shelter at a Saanich park, says homeless people are unfairly targeted

Ex-Raptor DeMar DeRozan says goodbye to Toronto on Instagram

The guard was traded to the San Antonio Spurs earlier this week for Kawhi Leonard and Danny Green

VIDEO: B.C. rancher demands change on how gov’t handles emergencies after 2017 wildfires

Essential service designation, tax deferrals should be on the table for ranchers

From hot dog to not dog: stuffed toy prompts car break in

Victoria couple said dog toy had been in the backseat for 18 years without problems

Most Read