Chiefs ousted from KIJHL playoffs

Osoyoos beats Kelowna in overtime Tuesday to take Okanagan Division final in six

In a series that could have gone either way at any time, the Osoyoos Coyotes found a way to get the better of the Kelowna Chiefs.

Five games were decided by a single goal—including four in overtime—as the Coyotes took down the Chiefs four games to two in the KIJHL Okanagan Division final.

Osoyoos wrapped up the series Tuesday night in Game 6 at the Sun Bowl with a 2-1 win in double overtime.

Austin Lee scored the game winner at 5:49 of the second extra session.

Nick Josephs, who led the Chiefs with eight playoff goals, scored the lone marker for Kelowna.

The teams traded victories in the first four games of the series with Kelowna winning twice in overtime—4-3 both times—while the Chiefs won 2-1 and 4-2.

Osoyoos grabbed the upper hand in the series with a 5-4 overtime victory in Game 5 on Monday night at Rutland Arena.

The Coyotes will go on to face the North Okanagan Knights in the Okanagan/Shuswap Conference final.

The Chiefs captured the Okanagan Division regular season title with a 35-15-1-1 record, then took down the Summerland Steam in six games in the opening round of the post-season.

In 2011-12, their second in Kelowna, the Chiefs went all the way to the KIJHL final before losing to the Beaver Valley Nitehawks.



Kelowna Capital News