Goaltender Tyler O'Donnell and forward Adam Beatty (left) watched the Kelowna Chiefs' season end at the hands of the Osoyoos Coyotes in four straight games in the KIJHL playoffs.

Chiefs swept out of playoffs by Coyotes

Kelowna's offense dries up as Osoyoos drops Chiefs in first-round series

Just when the Kelowna Chiefs needed it most, their offense went on hiatus.

The Chiefs averaged just a goal a game en route to being swept by the Osyoos Coyotes in their KIJHL opening round playoff series.

The Coyotes won the first three games handily, 5-0, 5-2 and 4-1, before wrapping up the four-game sweep with a 4-1 victory Saturday night at the Sun Bowl.

“We just didn’t score,” said Chiefs head coach Ken Andrusiak. “Four goals in four games isn’t going to get you anywhere. This (slump) started about a month ago, and we just never  really got it back.”

The Chiefs also closed out the regular season on a downer, dropping their last five games.

Andrusiak said some key injuries, along with a young, largely inexperienced defense also played into the team’s struggles over final weeks of the season.

Another factor in the club’s swoon was the loss of forward Nick Josephs—the KIJHL’s leading scorer at the time of his departure—who joined the BCHL’s Salmon Arm Silverbacks in January.

“I thought we adapted pretty well for a month, but then it sort of caught up with us,” he said. “Nick made everybody around him better and when he left, there was a gap there.”

On the upside, Andrusiak said 18 of 23 players are eligible to come back next season and if most of them do, the coach expects to ice a strong team in 2013-14.

The Chiefs will host their spring camp April 18 to 23 at Rutland Arena. For more information, visit www.kelownachiefs.com.

Chiefs award winners

Four members of the Chiefs were presented last weekend with the individual awards in the Okanagan Division.

Nick Headrick was named the division’s top defenceman, Brady Mende won most sportsmanlike honours, Tyler O’Donnell was recognized as the top netminder, while Jagger Bowles was the top scorer in the division during the regular season with 75 points.


Just Posted

Work continuing on new Kelowna visitor centre

Crews working through winter on downtown lakeshore site to have building ready for this summer

Pizza delivery car stolen during Kelowna delivery

While delivering a late night pizza, man has car stolen, then runs to recover it

Kelowna’s Serwa named to Olympic team

Kelsey Serwa is one of eight Canadian ski cross athletes headed to PyeongChang

Vernon Search & Rescue find lost snowmobiler

Male, 19, went missing in Hunter’s Range area near Enderby

Kelowna attraction set to re-open after 2017 floods

Scandia’s popular Jungle Golf, downstairs, has been closed since being damaged in Kelowna floods

Testing the Google Arts & Culture app

Going face to face with art

Back to work: U.S. government shutdown ends after Democrats relent

Short-term spending measure means both sides could see another shutdown stalemate in three weeks

Man lives despite malfunctioning defibrillator at B.C. arena

A middle-aged man went into cardiac arrest after at game at Pitt Meadows Arena last Wednesday.

Cause of Northern B.C. seaplane crash released

TSB releases report on seaplane crash during a water landing in 2016 near First Nations community

Vancouver police crack down on pop-up pot vendors

Officers raided merchants’ tables on Robson Square late Sunday

Angels at The Mule

Penticton nightclub introduces angel shots for safety

Dryer explosion at Teck Elkview Operations

Locals report hearing loud bang

Bell Media, NFL take appeal over Super Bowl ad rules to top court

At issue is a ban on substituting American ads with Canadian ones during the game’s broadcast

Crown seeks 4.5 years jail for B.C. woman convicted of counselling tax evasion

Debbie Anderson the latest from group to face jail for teaching debunked ‘natural person’ theory

Most Read