The Kelowna Chiefs celebrate their overtime goal over Sicamous Friday as they advance to the KIJHL final.

Kelowna Chiefs win conference and head to KIJHL final

Chiefs continue to roll in KIJHL final as team beats Sicamous in five games

  • Fri Mar 23rd, 2012 7:00am
  • Sports

The Kelowna Chiefs are the Okanagan Conference Champions for the first time in club history.

The game between the Chiefs and Sicamous went into double overtime before Brent Lashuk scored the game winner to defeat the Eagles 4 – 3.

Also scoring for Kelowna was Kyle Clerke (1G, 1A) Josh McEwan, and TJ Dumonceaux.

Dane Rupert added a couple of assists.

The Chiefs led the entire match, even entering the third period up 2 – 0.

Things fell apart in the final regular period where 4 goals were scored between the two teams and forcing the overtime.

Kelowna defeated the Eagles 4 games to 1.

Tyler O’Donnell had the win between the pipes.

Up next for the Kelowna Chiefs is the KIJHL League Championships where the Chiefs will face the BeaverValley Nitehawks.

Dates have yet to be determined.