Lightning swimmers excel

Lightning struck at the Kelowna second annual long course meet at the H2O pool May 6 to 8 as 35 Liquid Lightning Swim Club members took 23 firsts, 33 seconds and 18 thirds to finish second in points to Kamloops.

Lightning swimmers earned 125 personal best times including Elizabeth Aguiar, Kirsten Allen, Scott Andreen,  Zach DaSilva, Alex Diaz, Chantelle Douglas, Jessica Forbes, Andraya Skrlac, Lucas Tyler, William Zittlau, Sara Roggeveen, Sarah Collier,  Kiana Lowe, Nick Oliver, Isley Owens and Dylan DaSilva.

The Lightning broke 19 individual club records and four relay records.

Emil Dimitrov, head coach of the Lightning, said his  swimmers showed great team spirit and quality racing at the meet. “I believe most of the swimmers learned a lesson about how important the warm down is as well,” he said.

In the girls 13 and 14 division, Elizabeth Aguiar, 14, swam a 2:36.93 in preliminaries to break Julianne Rempel’s 200 metre butterfly record from 2006. Aguiar won the 50 m. butterfly with a personal best 32.01.

Chenoa Bondar, 13, swam a 4:58.11 in the 400 m. freestyle to break Erin Carlyle’s record from 2000.

In girls 15 and over, Kierra Smith, 17, won the 200 m. butterfly with a 2:30.48 beating her own club record. Smith also won the 50 m. breaststroke, 100 m. free.

Smith, Makayla Skrlac, Christina Russo and Danielle Douglas teamed up to set a club record in the 400 m. freestyle relay.

In the boys 10 and under division Dylan DaSilva swam a 1:15.46 in the 100 m. freestyle to break  Craig Mathieson’s mark from June 2008, a 5:50.63 in the 400 m. freestyle and a 1:27:87 in the 100 m. back breaking a pair of Mike Crone’s records from June 1999.

In boys 11 and 12, Zach DaSilva, 12, broke Jan Engel’s club record from 2003 and won the 100 m. backstroke with a 1:17.33. Zach also set a record in the 200 m. backstroke with a 2:49.56 good fro first place.

Lucas Tyler, 11, set records in the 200 m. freestyle with a 2:24.53, the 100 m. butterfly with a 1:16.12, to break Jan Engel’s record from 2003, and a 2:54.21 in the 200 m. butterfly, to shatter Angus Mathieson’s record from July 2008. Tyler won the 200 fly and the 400 m. freestyle.

In the boys 13 and 14 division, Alex Diaz set a club record with a 19:20.88 in the 1500 m. freestyle breaking Quinn Kristiansen’s mark from 2010. Quinn Kristiansen won the 50 m. backstroke with a 34.21 to break Luke McIntosh’s record from last year.

Kosta Prodanovic, 17, broke his own club record to win the 50 m. butterfly with a 28.42. Prodanovic swam a 2:28.36 in the 200 m. individual medley for a club record. He won the 100 m. backstroke.

Anthony Russo set a pair of records. He swam a 1:05.51 in the 100 m. butterfly to break Prodanovic’s record from last year and a 2:55.41 in the 200 m. fly for a club record. Russo won the 200 m. breaststroke.

Mitch Segal set a record in the 400 m. I.M. with a 5:37.02.Segal also won the 50 m. breaststroke.

Prodanovic, Segal, Kristiansen and Russo teamed up to set club records in the 200 m. freestyle and the 400 m. freestyle relays. Scott Andreen joined Segal, Russo and Prodanovic to set a club record in the 200 m. medley relay.

Danielle Douglas, 14, won the 50 m. freestyle and the 100 m. freestyle. Lacey Falkingham, 14, won the 50 m. breaststroke. Kate Aguiar, 18, won the 200 m. backstroke. Chris Basisty, 11, won the boys 12 and under 50 m. backstroke.

Christina Russo, 15, won the 100 m. and 50 m. butterfly events as well as the 200 m. butterfly.

Jennifer Short, 16, won the 50 m. and 100 m. breaststroke events.


Kelowna Capital News