The Immaculata Mustangs celebrate the gold medal at the B.C. Catholic Schools girls soccer championship last weekend in Vancouver. The 2013 champs are: (top

Mustangs win B.C. Catholic soccer title

Immaculata girls win provincial title with victory over Little Flower in final

With 17 players returning from last year’s squad, the Immaculata Mustangs had plenty of motivation to improve on their third-place showing at the 2012 B.C. Catholic Schools girls soccer championship.

Last weekend in Vancouver, it was mission accomplished for the Mustangs who claimed the gold medal at 2013 provincial finals without allowing a single goal.

In the championship game on Saturday, the Mustangs defeated Little Flower Academy 2-0.

After some early missed chances by Immaculata, including one corner kick that bounced inside the 6-yard box, Mustangs goalie Emily Haber was called upon to make some big saves to keep the game scoreless through the first half.

In the second half, Leaghan Penkala picked up an Olivia Johnson cross, and made no mistake to give the Mustangs a 1-0 lead.  Once again, Haber stepped up with some big key saves to pre sere the one-goal lead. Then, Emma Johnson would intercept a pass-back to the keeper, and put home the insurance marker to secure the win and gold medal.

Jaedyn Penkala was named the tournament MVP, while Emma Johnson and Erin Graham were named to the tournament all-star team.

Emily Haber was awarded the top keeper of the tournament by allowing no goals against in fives games.

On opening day, the Mustangs scored a pair of lopsided wins, 8-0 over St. Ann’s from Kamloops and 6-0 over St. John Brebeuf from Abbotsford.

On Day 2, scored a pair of tights wins, 1-0 over  Holy Cross from Surrey, and 1-0 over Archbishop Carney Secondary School from Port Coquitlam to earn a berth in the final.

It was the Mustangs’ first B.C. Catholic Schools title since 2007.

Immaculata will now focus on defending its Okanagan Valley  girls title, while also looking to win its first provincial A championship since 2009.


Just Posted

Column: Make it a green Christmas

Instead of purchasing a cuddly stuffie this year, put your money towards helping the real thing.

Sagmoen neighbours recall alleged hammer attack

Woman was screaming outside Maple Ridge townhouse in 2013

Kelowna city councillor suggests bringing back photo radar

Gail Given says it could help generate traffic fine revenue for the city—and make roads safer

‘Game changer” research deal between three B.C. Interior universities

UBCO, TRU, UNBC say deal will help innovation, research, aid students and increase quality of life

What’s happening

Find out about the events happening in your community this weekend

Lind nets three in Rockets win; Dube and Foote named to Canada’s roster

Kole Lind returns from national junior camp to lead Rockets to victory in P.A.

Interior Health holding immunization clinic in Vernon Saturday

IH issues list of Okanagan meningococcal immunization clinics

Court denies WestJet’s bid to toss out discrimination lawsuit of former worker

Mandalena Lewis is suing WestJet over allegations of gender-based discrimination

VIDEO: 3 months later, rescued sea lion released back into ocean

The young animal was found in Campbell River three months ago

Annual Christmas meal held as Kelowna Gospel Mission

The meal will be held tomorrow from 12 to 6 p.m.

Michaels: Big Brother has become a big letdown

“You have nothing to fear if you have nothing to hide, but privacy should still have some appeal.”

One convicted, two cleared in 2014 deaths of men in B.C.’s Cariboo

Andrew Jongbloets convicted of manslaughter in deaths of Matthew Hennigar, 23 and Kalvin Andy, 22

Accused Shuswap drug smuggler to be extradited

Supreme Court of Canada upholds extradition order for accused Shuswap drug smuggler, Colin Martin

Most Read