Seven Sun named to BCFC all-star team

Three defensive backs, including MVP Robbie Yochim, make conference squad for 2014

Led by team MVP Robbie Yochim, seven members of the Okanagan Sun have been named to the BCFC all-star team for 2014.

Yochim, who led the Sun with 34 tackles and four interceptions, was one of three players selected in the defensive secondary. Okanagan teammates Brennan Van Nistelrooy (19 tackles, two fumble recoveries, two interceptions) and Dexter Janke (14 tackles, three interceptions) also made the grade as defensive backs.

Also named on defense was lineman Zak Ironstand, who had 12 tackles, six sacks and a fumble recovery this season.

On offense, Alex Bradley was chosen as one of two running backs for the second year in a row. Bradley had 672 yards rushing on 77 carries and added five touchdowns.

The Sun also had two players selected on the offensive line—Cliff Crews and Michele Vecchio.

The Langley Rams had the most selections of all BCFC teams with eight.

The Sun captured its first conference regular season title since 2010 with a 9-1 record.

Meanwhile, after a week off, the Sun will return to action this Sunday when they host the Vancouver Island Raiders in the conference semifinal.

Kick off at the Apple Bowl is 1 p.m.


Just Posted

Friends of Gable Beach concerned with District of Lake Country’s proposal

Carr’s Landing residents oppose the district’s latest solution to Gable Beach

Greyhound stop in Oyama gets cut

Expanded regional transit replacement option for Lake Country

Heavy snowfall for Coquihalla

Kelowna - Snowfall is expected to continue on the highway until Sunday

Lake Country budget approved

Lake Country’s 2018 Operating and Capital Budget was approved Tuesday night

Serious injuries sustained in Peachland collision

Both drivers were send to hospital yesterday after a head-on collision

VIDEO: What you need to know today at the B.C. Games

B.C. Winter Games athletes work for gold in the last full day of competition

How to keep local news visible in your Facebook feed

Facebook has changed the news feed to emphasize personal connections. You might see less news.

Looking back at the 1979 B.C. Games: Good memories, even better jackets

39 years later, Kamloops is hosting the Winter Games again, with some volunteers returning

BCHL Today: Cowichan Caps play spoiler and Nanaimo wins 10th straight game

BCHL Today is a (near) daily look at what’s going on around the league and the junior A world.

Federal budget to unveil incentive for 5-week second parent leave: official

Goal behind the measure is to give parents more incentive to share child-rearing responsibilities

Notley says Alberta watching B.C. court bid closely, will get no free ride on it

Alberta Premier Rachel Notley ended the three-week ban on B.C. wine, calming the trade war

Trudeau ends troubled India trip in his comfort zone of hockey and youth

The players, 18-25, came to New Delhi from Ladakhi in northern India, as part of outreach program

OLYMPIC ROUNDUP: Kim Boutin named Canada’s flag bearer for closing ceremony

Two more medals for Canada, including the bronze in men’s hockey

Team Canada’s Dave Duncan apologizes after drunken joyride in Pyeongchang

Duncan, his wife Maja and Canadian technical coach William Raine detained by South Korean police

Most Read