Sherbino, Symonds tops at Campus to Campus

Annual race another success

A little snow and some wet pavement wasn’t enough to stop Keddi-Anne Sherbino from running away with the women’s title at the 2011 Campus to Campus Half Marathon.

The Kelowna runner—who won the 2010 Okanagan Marathon—finished the 21.1 km course at Okanagan College in one hour 21 minutes 41 seconds.

Vernon runners Mary Edgar (1:34:09) and Jennifer Bond (1:35:46) came in second and third, respectively, in the women’s race.

In the men’s half marathon, Penticton’s Jeff Symonds showed the way in 1:15:42.

Kelowna’s Graham Hood was second in 1:17:11, with Rossland’s Dallas Cain 40 seconds back of Hood in third.

Other age group winners were:

• Female—Ashley Yip (U-20) 1:45:42; 1:35:46; Nicole Heffner (35-39) 1:47:10; Kari Bailey (40-44) 1:39:30; Sally Stewart (45-49) 1:38:24; Kim Jollymore (50-54) 1:47:43; Kirsten Barrowman (55-59) 1:55:37; and Diane Leonard (60-79) 1:59:59.

• Male—Peter Baumeister (U20) 1:24:23; Roger Sherwood (20-24) 1:31:13; Vincent Denis (40-44); Christopher Wilson (45-49) 1:26:31; Bill Mah (1:30:53); Chris Charbonneau (55-59) 1:37:48; and Harvey Beselt (60-79) 1:49:58.

In the 10 K race three Kelowna runners swept the top three spots in the men’s division. Jonathan Little won with a time of 37:12, Yannick Letailleur finished second with 38:10 and Aurelien Schilles earned a bronze with a 39:48 finish.

On the women’s side the top three 10 K runners were also from Kelowna. They are Lisa Vinge (45:45), Pascal Li (46:57) and Corinne Wade (47:26).

The Relay Race was won by the 21K Beer Run, featuring team members Scott Landsiedel, Ben Lees, Jack Meenaghan, Jim Stewart and Josh Teather.

For complete results, visit


Just Posted

Kelowna, Lake Country boarders hit B.C. Games podium

At the Kamloops BC Games, Big White boarders Central Okanagan boarders win medals

Gold for Apex Freestyle Club skier at B.C. Games

Kelowna’s Jordan MacDonald wins gold in Kamloops at the B.C. Winter Games

Feature Friday: Life in the sex trade

A view into the life from one Kelowna prostitute and the issues it can cause for women

Future Olympians sought in Kelowna

RBC Training Ground event evaluates 100 young local athletes

Victory lap to honour Serwa

Big White Ski Resort did a victory lap to honour the skier who won gold in the Olympics

What’s happening

Check out what is happening this weekend in the Okanagan-Shuswap.

How to keep local news visible in your Facebook feed

Facebook has changed the news feed to emphasize personal connections. You might see less news.

Rockets fend off pesky T-birds

Kelowna and Seattle go back and forth in an entertaining WHL affair

Canucks fold 5-3 in first ever trip to Vegas

Daniel Sedin had two points as Canucks fall to the Golden Knights Friday night

That’s a wrap: B.C. Games results after Day 1

Vancouver-Coastal Zone 5 is in the lead for medals Friday at the Kamloops 2018 B.C. Winter Games

Familiar faces head up library board

The executive of the Okanagan Regional Library board remains the same

Sticking the landing at the B.C. Games

Gymnasts talk competition, B.C. Winter Games, and teamwork in Kamloops

Therapy dogs make appearance at B.C. Games

The St. John’s Ambulance therapy dog program launches a pilot project at the 2018 Kamloops B.C. Winter Games

$153M in federal cash to fund child care, education training in B.C.

Bilateral agreement will create 1,370 new infant and toddler spaces

Most Read