Brendan Hansen and the Okanagan Sun will kick off the BCFC season July 29 at home to the Westshore Rebels.                                -Image credit: Ken Reid/Greystoke Photography

Brendan Hansen and the Okanagan Sun will kick off the BCFC season July 29 at home to the Westshore Rebels. -Image credit: Ken Reid/Greystoke Photography

Sun kicks off 2017 vs Rebels

Last year’s finalists meet July 29 in B.C. Football Conference opener

A matchup of last season’s league finalists will kick off the 2017 B.C. Football Conference campaign for the Okanagan Sun.

On Saturday, July 29, the Sun will play host to the defending champion Westshore Rebels. Kick off at the Apple Bowl is 7 p.m.

The Sun will play a balanced 10-game schedule, with two games each against the Rebels, Kamloops, Langley, the Valley Huskers and Vancouver Island Raiders.

Okanagan will be home again on Saturday, Aug. 5 to take on the Broncos.

The Sun and Rebels will close out the regular season on Saturday, Oct. 7 in Victoria.

Led by head coach Ben Macauley for the second year in a row, the Sun will hold their spring camp, May 26 to 28.

Here’s a look at the complete 2017 Sun schedule:

Saturday, July 29—Westshore Rebels @ Sun, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 5—Kamloops Broncos @ Sun, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 12—Sun @ Langley Rams, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 19—Valley Huskers @ Sun, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 26—Sun @ V. Island Raiders, 7 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 10—V. Island Raiders @ Sun, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 16—Sun @ Valley Huskers, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 23—Sun @ Kamloops Broncos, 6 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 1—Langley Rams @ Sun, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 7—Sun @ Westshore Rebels, 7 p.m.