Skip to content

Kelowna council spotlights names for Community Task Force on Performing Arts

Kelowna Mayor Tom Days will chair the task force
Kelowna Community Theatre is 60 years old and showing its age, according to Citizens for a New Performing Arts Centre. (

Kelowna city council has revealed the names of those who will make up the Community Task Force on the Performing Arts.

Its mandate is to recommend opportunities to advance the redevelopment of the Kelowna Community Theatre (KCT):

• Shane Styles

• Robert Fein

• Ryan Donn

• Laura Doncom

• Lesley Cormack

• Lisanne Ballantyne

• Nikki Csek

Lauren Macaulay

Coun. Rick Webber will also sit on the task force and Mayor Tom Dyas will be the chair.

The committee is tasked with identifying partnership and philanthropic opportunities, engaging the public for its vision, and increasing integration between all stakeholders in redeveloping the KCT.

Research commissioned by Citizens for a New Performing Arts Centre earlier this year shows that a contemporary and versatile 1,600-seat venue in Kelowna’s cultural district would bring substantial economic and other benefits to the region.

The 850-seat KCT is now 60 years old.

READ MORE: New performing arts centre for Kelowna taking shape under latest budget

READ MORE: $3M grant will help with repairs to Turtle Lake dams in southeast Kelowna

Gary Barnes

About the Author: Gary Barnes

Recently joined Kelowna Capital News and WestK News as a multimedia journalist in January 2022. With almost 30 years of experience in news reporting and radio broadcasting...
Read more