The plaza across from City Hall where the annual civic awards winners’ name are etched on plaques.—Image credit: City of Kelowna

Kelowna to present its civic awards tonight

The 2017 man and woman of the year will be announced, along with 15 other award winners.

The City of Kelowna will present its annual civic awards tonight at the Kelowna Community Theatre.

The 42nd annual awards gala will start at 7 p.m. and recognizes recipients in 15 categories, including man and woman of the year, as well as community and youth volunteers, athletes, artists, business, non-profit groups and environmental leaders.

The three finalists in each category were nominated by city residents.

On Monday, council paid tribute to the finalists, saying they represent the best the city has to offer when it comes to making a contribution to Kelowna.

This year’s finalists include:

Fred Macklin Memorial Award – Man of the Year

• Garry Benson

• Brett Millard

• Jason Picklyk

Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award- Woman of the Year

• Shannon Christensen

• June Nicolay

• Kelly Taverner

Young Male Volunteer of the Year

• Andrew Kates

• Cassidy Murrell

• Kristian Oppenheim

Young Female Volunteer of the Year

• Megan Phillips

• Gabriela Rubio

• Gillian Smith

Central Okanagan Foundation – Volunteer Organization of the Year

• Canadian Mental Health Association, Kelowna Branch

• Kelowna Gospel Mission

• Project Literacy Kelowna Society

Corporate Community of the Year Award

Small /Medium Business

• Moga Moms

• Third Space Coffee

• Volinspire Community Contribution Company

Large Business

• COSTCO Wholesale, Kelowna

• Home Depot Kelowna

• Winn Rentals

Honour in the Arts

• Karen Close

• Adam Meachem

• Rena Warren

Teen Honour in the Arts

• Julia Chambers

• Andrew Kates

• Andrea Sorestad

Augie Ciancone Memorial Award – Female High School Athlete of the Year

• Ashlyn Day

• Natalie Hope

• Nicola Lopes

Augie Ciancone Memorial Award – Male High School Athlete of the Year

• Taylor Knoll

• Fynn McCarthy

• Justin Peleshytyk

Bryan Couling Memorial Award – Athletic Team of the Year

• The Kelowna Mission Junior Bantam Lions Football Team

• The Kelowna Senior Secondary Owls, Senior Boys Basketball Team

• The UBC Okanagan Heat, Women’s Volleyball Team

Bob Giordano Memorial Award – Coach or Sport Administrator of the Year

• Kendall Gross

• Gord McInnes

• Randall Wight

Male Athlete of the Year

• Trevor Stirling

• Rostam Turner

• Gareth Williams

Female Athlete of the Year

• Olivia Gran

• Taylor Ruck

• Jordyn Yendley

Champion for the Environment


• Nancy Mora Castro


• Spider Agile Technology

• Value Village, Kelowna

Just Posted

Okanagan Wildfires: An afternoon update on wildfires and evacuations

A Sunday afternoon look at the major wildfires impacting the Okanagan and Similkameen.

VIDEO: Sailing under the sun at the BC Games

Maple Bay in the Cowichan Valley was host to dozens of athletes sailing on small prams to planing dinghys

BC Wildfire holding steady on Okanagan Complex

Evening update on Okanagan fire situation

Wild fires blaze in the Okanagan, in your words

We have compiled a community photo album of your wildfire photos

Power couple speed into top spot at L’Alpe de Grand Blanc at Big White

The professional riders have been training all year

BC Games: Day 3 wrap and closing ceremonies

The torch in the Cowichan Valley has been extinguished as Fort St. John gets ready to host the 2020 BC Winter Games

Police confirm girl, 8 others injured in Toronto shooting; shooter dead

Paramedics said many of the victims in Danforth, including a child, were rushed to trauma centres

Why do they do it? Coaches guide kids to wins, personal bests at the BC Games

Behind the 2,300 B.C. athletes are the 450 coaches who dedicate time to help train, compete

Reel Reviews: Floundering inferno

We quote Charlie Brown: “Good grief!”

UPDATE: Five taken to hospital following one of two Coquihalla accidents

One airlifted in critical condition, four taken via ambulance in stable condition

Ottawa fails to find alternative buyer for Trans Mountain pipeline by deadline

The feds had announced it was purchasing the $4.5 billion pipeline earlier this spring

Government sets full-time salary range for Justin Trudeau’s nanny

At its top range, the order works out to a rate of $21.79 per hour, assuming a 40-hour work week

Lower Mainland teams battle for baseball gold at BC Games

Vancouver Coastal squeaked out a 3-2 win against Fraser Valley

The Northern Secwepemc te Qelmucw people signed an agreement-in-principle with the B.C. government

The signing ceremony, at the Eliza Archie Memorial School, was 25 years in the making

Most Read