AquaJets and Lightning join forces

Local swim clubs form the Kelowna West Kelowna Integrated Club (KWIC) and compete at their first provincial meet

  • Jun. 29, 2016 10:00 a.m.

Members of the newly-formed Kelowna West Kelowna Integrated Club competed in the provincial AA swimming championships last weekend in Kamloops.

The newly-formed Kelowna West Kelowna Integrated Club (KWIC) made a successful debut at the B.C. AA long course swimming championships in Kamloops.

The product of a new association between the Kelowna AquaJets and the Liquid Lightning Swim Clubs, 20 swimmers swam 96 best times at the meet and placed eighth overall out of 39 teams.

Swimmers with 100 per cent best times were Noah Semashkewich and Erin Epp.

Epp also took 15 seconds off her 400IM, dropped 10 in her 200 back—a new AAA provincial qualifier—and swam to three new age group national times in her 200 and 400IM and 200 breast.

She also won gold in 50 and 100 breast, 200 and 400 IM and silver in 50 free and 200 breast.

Swimmers who were just shy of 100 per cent best times were Madison Wudrich and Olivia Courtenay who swam to a silver medal in her 100 breast.

Other individual medal winners were Taylor Desrosier swimming to bronze in both 100 back and breast, Johnny Ekinci who swam to bronze in 100 and 200 back, Abigail Jerome won gold in the 50 free, Ella Rolleston won silver in 50 fly, and Christina Wright swam to bronze in 200 IM.

The U12 relay team of Ava Toyata, Ella Rolleston, Erin Epp and Abigail Jerome won gold in the 4×50 free relay, while Georgia Pengilly, Taylor Desrosier, Megan Elkin and Christina Wright took silver in the U14 girls free relay.

The 4×50 medley relay team of Ava Toyata, Erin Epp, Ella Rolleston and Abigail Jerome won bronze, while the U14 A team Taylor Desrosier, Megan Elkin, Brooklyn Semashkewich and Christina Wright won gold.

The U14 B team of Georgia Pengilly, Olivia Courtenay, Madison Wudrich and Alex Strobel won bronze.

Other strong swims were posted by Evan Kohnke, Volodymyr Matushevsky, Cameron Mcconechy, Brandon Mullin, Reiner Stone and Quin Toyata.




Just Posted

UPDATED: Mount Eneas fire grows to 1,374 hectares

Regional District Okanagan-Similkameen issues evac alerts for properties in Area F.

UPDATED: Okanagan Mountain Park wildfire evacuation alert lifted

An evacuation alert remains in effect for those on Lakeshore Road

Mount Conkle fire near Summerland 90 per cent guarded

This fire has several good water sources and has good road access which have contributed to the success

Law Creek wildfire still out-of-control

A blaze in West Kelowna still has 129 properties on an evacuation alert

BC Wildfire update on Okanagan blazes

Watch the media briefing on the current fire situation in the Okanagan.

Wildfires near Vernon extinguished

BX, Dee Lake and Irish Creek fires all out

What’s happening this weekend

Follow Social Squad memeber Matthew Abrey to find out what’s happeing this weekend

RCMP help to save goats from wildfire

The fast-approaching wildfire, sparked Thursday, forced the evacuation of five homes

Vernon’s Sparrow signs with Wichita

Vernon product headed to ECHL for pro hockey

VIDEO: Near drowning captured on popular B.C. river

Search and Rescue manager says the popular pastime of floating in the summer is inherently dangerous

Matjicka pulls trick for Silver Stars

Capri Insurance Men’s 55+ Soccer League roundup

Crosswalk vandalism leaves black mark for Cowichan as B.C. Games begin

Rainbow crosswalk defaced just days after being painted

Photo gallery: BC Games Day 1

A brief look at action from the 2018 BC Summer Games in the Cowichan Valley

Most Read